I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

unusual diet for a squirrel?

26 Comments

I put some left over fruit cake out for the birds and watched out of the kitchen window as a squirrel took a piece of the cake, bounded over the grass to the other side of the garden and then buried it in the grass.  He then went back to the bird feeder, took another piece of cake and did the same.  Then, as I watched, he jumped over to another area of grass and picked up something I hadn’t noticed before, and didn’t recognise.  Using the binoculars (which I conveniently keep on the kitchen windowsill) I saw that it was a piece of pizza!  Where it came from I have no idea (possibly a fox had left it in the garden?) but it looked like the squirrel was enjoying it very much!  He sat on the grass eating it for a while and then bounded off across the garden, carrying the pizza with him.

squirrel eating pizza

Next day, looking idly out of the window, I spotted a fox in the garden.  He seemed to be searching for something.  Perhaps he was sure he had left some pizza in my garden…

fantastic mr fox enters the garden

is mr fox looking for something

The photos aren’t brilliant because I took them through the window, with the camera on zoom.

26 thoughts on “unusual diet for a squirrel?

  1. You have some very discerning visitors in your yard Elaine. How gorgeous.

  2. The squirrel is probably preparing a huge pre-election show, and will perch on a branch with the fruit cake, squeaking “Vote Marie-Antoniette, the only squirrel who lets you have your cake and eat it”. Ok, I’ll go and take that little pink pill.

    • I can see the Marie Antoinette scenario – but what about the pizza? Don’t take the pink pill – this is much more fun! :)

      • Hmm. The Pizza. Ah. (MM thinks…) Imagine your squirrel with a pair of dark sunglasses and a fedora hat. Maybe he’s the big boss of the local wildlife Mafia, and the Pizza was left in your garden as danger money by a trembling badger who had been threatened by a gang of ferrets clutching bazookas… Are you suuuure you don’t want me to go and take that pill now?

        • Ah yes, I think you might be on to something! We have badgers too, although I haven’t seen them, just seen the damage they have left behind (dug up grass, seriously damaged fences). Perhaps the ferret gang has got fed up with them too. :) Nope, step away from the pink pill….

  3. That fox is adorable!

    Squirrels also like Nutella… I have photographic evidence! http://confuzzledom.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/dscn1267.jpg

  4. Ah pizza, who doesn’t love it! :)

  5. How wonderful to have such visitors to your garden. Love the pizza-eating squirrel!

    • I sound as though I am complaining about these garden visitors, but I suppose I’m not really – it is lovely to see wildlife so close to home. I couldn’t believe the pizza eating squirrel – I had no idea they would be interested in such things!

  6. Not surprised the squirrel liked pizza – my dad’s cat is addicted to cheese and goes crazy for a piece of pizza. Maybe you should invent a Pizza Hut squirrel feeder?

  7. Pizza and cake, … Main course and desert being saved for a special occasion or for guests…, rather logical I’d think, (the nuts would have been the the Entree probably)…
    Sir Fox just wasn’t quick enough, but cudos for getting photos of these ellusive creatures :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 490 other followers