I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

spring is definitely in the air

17 Comments

I went for a walk in the woods yesterday – the sun was shining, and I decided to make the most of it.

The leaf buds are beginning to appear on this weeping willow, which will look fabulous when it has all of its foliage and the branches are nearly touching the water.  The river is very high at the moment – the result of the weeks and weeks of rain we’ve had.

weeping willow

When I first saw these blue flowers from the distance, on the woodland floor, I thought they were bluebells, which had come out very early, but on closer inspection they are lungwort (which I had to look up, because I don’t think I’ve seen them before).  The photo looks as though I’ve had the camera at a strange angle, but it was a sloping piece of ground.

carpet of blue flowers

lungwort

17 thoughts on “spring is definitely in the air

  1. I agree. Spring is all over the place, I love it. :)

  2. I love Willow trees. They are so elegant. It’s a bit early for Bluebells, but the Lungwort flowers are really pretty. :)

  3. Finally! It’s been a tedious winter, even down here in Spain. Spring started this week for us, too :)

  4. I’m getting depressed now Elaine. We have had one day above freezing in the last three months. We have so much snow on the ground our prayer is that spring doesn’t come too fast and leave us with major flooding.

  5. A stunning picture of the willow dipping into the water, hooray for Spring!

  6. Thank goodness Winter is over for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers