I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

let’s go (and) fly a kite

12 Comments

Last weekend we were in Shropshire at a music festival (there’s a first for everything!) and on the Sunday there was a kite flying event.  I have never seen such a wonderful collection of kites, so I took a few quick snaps.  The windy weather was perfect for them – the tail end of hurricane Bertha was just arriving.

kites

Snakes, fish, octopus, a white pony with a pink mane and tail, huge kites with streamers.

more kites

Two fish and a scuba diver!

even more kites

You might think that the purple bear kite is just very close to the camera, but it was being flown from the same field as the other kites. It was HUGE!

and another kite

The gecko is even larger than the bear!

And now, because you can’t give a post a title like this and not have a link to Mary Poppins…

 

 

12 thoughts on “let’s go (and) fly a kite

  1. Shropshire? Music Festival? Kite Flying? I know there was kite flying at Berrington one weekend recently, is this where you were? I’m not too fond of those blow-up creatures though, I like kites to be like kites if you know what I mean. And you didn’t drop in for a cuppa…

    • It was Farmer Phil’s Festival, near Ratlinghope. The music was from Friday to Sunday and the kite flying was on Sunday. I much preferred the smaller kites – the snakes, fish and standard shapes, but the bear and gecko were sooooo huge and very eye catching. If I’d known where to drop in for a cuppa, I’d have been there! :)

  2. Well this is my neck of the woods too, and I feel I ought to recognise those hills – behind the Long Mynd maybe? Great kites though.

  3. Perfect kite flying weather right now too, well it is here – still very windy!

  4. Great captures, Elaine. Those kites are so colourful, and lots of fun on a windy day. :)

  5. I love flying kites, well when I manage to get them in the air. It is not very windy here, just rainy at the moment. ;(

  6. I haven’t flown a kite for years and now I really want to get one and find some wind. Those kites are pretty aren’t they.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 505 other followers