I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday – soup

4 Comments

BRRRR! TIME TO MAKE WARMING SOUP

What’s happened to our weather this week?  It went from fine on Monday to a warm summer’s day on Wednesday (temperatures of 24-25 C) to a cold wet windy Friday which felt more like November than September.  My wardrobe doesn’t know if it’s coming or going!

On Wednesday afternoon I had to walk from home to the mainline station to get the train into London.  The weather was absolutely perfect; the sky was blue, the birds were tweeting, people were working in their gardens and the 25 minute walk to the station was lovely.  Yesterday, if I had tried that walk there would have been no enjoyment whatsoever; the sky was dull and grey all day, it rained heavily at lunchtime and in the afternoon it was blowing a gale which knocked over several of my plants in pots (which are still waiting for me to decide whether to put them into the ground or keep them in tubs) and some of my french bean plants.   No-one was out working in their gardens and, in fact, if they had any sense they would be in their homes huddled with blankets, drinking steaming mugs of  hot chocolate, by the roaring log fire – or at the very least with the central heating on.  It was so chilly and autumnal that I felt moved to get the leeks, potatoes and onions out and make some leek and potato soup.  I now have some ready for eating today and several batches safely put away in the freezer.  I am feeling very smug now…

I got the idea for this post at Show My Face.

4 thoughts on “six word saturday – soup

  1. My 64U:
    Hot vichyoisse sounds just the ticket!

    Have a great weekend,

    LOLA:)

    ”Fashions Fade but Style is Eternal” (Yves St Laurent)

  2. Mmmmmmmmmm, I tellya, I love soup no matter what the season.

    My 6 words are posted if you have time to stop by.

  3. I so agree! What has happened. We had the air conditioner on last weekend and it has rained ever since! We had soup a lot this week. First time since last April or so. Today we are making a turkey, because it was in the freezer, raining and we didn’t feel like going to the city for groceries. We had to drive to work and school in the rain to the city all week. At least I am finally in the mood to decorate for fall today! 🙂

    I like your blog and am following now.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    HUGS,
    Coreen

  4. Lola – clever 6 words for me!
    Hootin’ Anni – me too, I am a soup-lover although especially in the colder months.
    Coreen – Did you get your fall decorating started?

Now it's your turn

