I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

the really good rice pot

11 Comments

I’m not really one for lots of kitchen gadgets (although I’m not sure whether this can be classed as one actually – I think technically a gadget is something mechanical or electrical and this item is neither) because they are often fiddly to use and difficult to clean.

However… recently I bought this attractive little thing (16cm high)

It’s called the Really Good Rice Pot and I bought it when I went to a Jamie at Home party that a friend was hosting.  Quite a few of the other people at the party had heard good things about it so I decided to order one.  I haven’t been disappointed.

It’s really easy to use – you put uncooked, rinsed rice in it up to a certain level, add boiling water up to the next level, put the lids on and either put it in the oven for 20 minutes or in the microwave for 5 minutes.  Leave it to stand for 10 minutes before removing the lids and hey presto! Perfect rice.  It makes enough for four good sized portions but you can reduce the quantities to make less.

Another plus point is that it can go in the dishwasher – always a bonus!

11 thoughts on “the really good rice pot

  1. Now I’m not normally a fan of gadgety things for the kitchen, but as the world’s worst rice cook, I could definitely do with one of these!

  2. WHAMH – It’s definitely a gadget for non-gadgetty people.

    Dumdad – I’m sure Jamie at Home will do international deliveries!

  3. at what temp do you put it in the oven?

  4. I have tried to cook brown basmati rice in this but keep getting it wrong, too much water, too little water. Have you any tips? Thanks

  5. This looks like a great piece of kit. I’m rubbish at cooking rice, it always sticks to the bottom of the pan, so this sounds like just what I need. I like the fact that you can use it in the oven or the microwave.

  6. The Indian lady at the Indian cooking class I took said rinse the rice three times to get rid of starch, put 1 cup of water for every cup of rice (use same measuring device) then cook 20 minutes in microwave … I have a rice cooker but do it often like this when I cook for a crowd or need the bench space for something other than the rice cooker…it works perfectly.

    I’m stunned that you managed to cook your rice in the microwave for only five minutes! Yes, you took it out to stand with the lid on for 10 minutes, but it wasn’t actually cooking during that time? just absorbing the water? If your rice cooked with only 5 minutes of heat then I’m totally impressed!!! May I ask how much this post cost please?

    Does the ceramic get really hot? This fascinates me… wow!

    • I am sometimes lazy and don’t always rinse my rice properly I have to admit, but I find that at least three times would be required until the water runs clear. It is a very impressive pot, but since I wrote that post I haven’t been using it so much. I think perhaps I must have changed the type of rice I use because I found it was too wet when I took it out. I really must get back to it and try adjusting the water a bit. Yes, the ceramic does get very hot – oven gloves are a necessity to remove it from the microwave.
      I think it cost me about £25, or maybe a little more. I can’t remember exactly, but I know it was quite expensive (but then all of the Jamie Oliver stuff was/is expensive really).

  7. Elaine,
    Doesn’t having the lid on want it to boil over? In our Indian cooking class our teacher rinsed the rice three times, added the correct amount of water (adjust for the residue water left over from the washing) added the cardamom pods, whole cloves, saffron etc and cooked it lid off for 20 minutes. We both used a cheap clear Pyrex bowl.

    She said several times to cook it uncovered and maybe that’s why hers and now mine takes 20 minutes instead of 5, but I’d imagine that the two tiny holes I see on your lids would not let enough steam out, that the cooking water would be boiling over all over the place… I’m seriously impressed that that is obviously not the case!!!

    If I have to cook it one time in a real hurry I will try and cover it like yours an see if that speeds up the process 🙂

    Try reducing the water you add by just a smidge…because maybe you are retaining too much from the rinsing??? could be an answer to the wet rice problem? Just an idea. J.O. stuff seems seriously expensive to me too, must be to allow for the cut he’s taking. lol. Marketing stuff clearly helps add to his millions. It’s the way of the world isn’t it? C’est la vie.

    Here’s to getting the perfect method to getting wonderful fluffy rice. BTW our teacher also mentioned that what ever method you use you should be fluffing up your rice as soon as it’s cooked with a fork, apparently they always do that in restaurants to stop the rice from clumping up together so maybe that’s the most simple remedy to your problem? Worth a try?

Now it's your turn

