I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

stroopwafels!

4 Comments

I am a bit late writing this post I’m afraid – I haven’t had the chance to upload the photos until now.

Kiwidutch at Local Heart, Global Soul wrote a very interesting post a while back about the delicious Dutch treats, stroopwafels (which you can read here), and held a competition/draw to win some.  So, nothing ventured, nothing gained, I put a comment on the post and my name was entered for the draw.  Guess what?  I won!  I was so thrilled.  A week or so later, a box arrived for me.  I opened it eagerly…

I had been expecting one packet of stroopwafels – not four!

Another reason for my delay in posting about these delights is that I felt I should carry out extensive taste research so that I could report back knowledgeably about them!  I have tried both varieties (the mini ones are bite-size versions of one of the larger types – very easy to pop in your mouth!) both cold and warmed on the top of my mug of tea/coffee (as suggested by Kiwidutch in her post) and think that, on balance, I prefer them cold – they last much longer that way because the caramel/syrup is more solid.  I also think my favourites are the traditional ones with the more ‘waffle-like’ pattern on them.

Also included in the parcel, along with the stroopwafels, was this delightful little handmade Christmas tree ornament.


It’s hard to tell the size of the skates from this picture, but the paperclips are  2 inches long (5cm).

Thank you Kiwidutch for your great competition!

4 thoughts on “stroopwafels!

  1. Ah ha, taste research is imperative! See, everyone has a different favourite LOL
    Glad that they arrived safely and that they are being enjoyed.
    The Dutch are known for their speed skaters so think of The Netherlands when you hang these little skates on the tree at Christmas :(They are fun to make).
    Glad to have another ,member in the “prefer my stroopwafels cold” camp LOL . Kindred spirit.
    Great photos too,,, very tempting.
    Thanks too for the link.. that was sweet 🙂
    .

  2. Good Morning elaine….how lovely…I love winning things…mental note…enter some competitions!

  3. Good morning! It’s such a buzz to win things – I am still excited about the stroopwafels!

Now it's your turn

