I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

interesting dates

6 Comments

No, I have not been trying out the latest internet dating sites, or going out with a range of new men –  I’m talking calendar dates!

Today’s and tomorrow’s dates are interesting – 10.10.11 and 11.10.11.  If you take the dots away you have two binary numbers. In January, I remember a pupil of mine being very excited about the fact that several dates were binary numbers (1.1.11, 10.1.11, 11.1.11) and he was eagerly looking forward to October and November for the same reason!

October has 3 ‘binary dates’ – 1.10.11, 10.10.11 and 11.10.11.

November will have 3 also – 1.11.11, 10.11.11 and 11.11.11.

Anyone care to work out the value of these number?  No, I thought not…  so here are today and tomorrow done for you.

10.10.11 (take the dots away) is 43

11.10.11 is 59.

If you want an explanation of binary (if you’re still reading this post, of course, and haven’t fallen asleep!) there’s one here.

6 thoughts on “interesting dates

  1. You learn something new everyday! 🙂

  2. I needed to read the explanation to know what binary was and the mega-anti-mathematician in me almost fainted… (I passed the last math exam that I needed in school by one point only after a whole year of extra Saturday tuition)
    Clearly binary is my idea of hell LOL
    Kudos to you for being able to get your head around it, I’ll stick to my blissful ignorance 🙂

    • I can only get my head around it to a certain degree – I understand how it works, from my own school days, but that’s about it. When I was looking for an online explanation to post a link to (rather than trying to explain it myself, lazy girl that I am) I had to look at quite a few before I could find one that I actually understood!

  3. I remember being very excited at primary school when the date was 7.7.77!

Now it's your turn

