I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

blast from the past – school reading books

6 Comments

As part of my continuing/ constant attempt to clear some space in my ‘office’ (the spare bedroom) I have, once again, been looking through the bookshelves to see if there is anything I can throw out/send to a charity shop/give to a friend.  I came across these books which are my reading books from age 6-7.

I have hung on to them all these years partly for sentimental reasons, partly because I find it hard to get rid of things and partly because they have been really good sources of traditional, not always well known, tales which I have used in teaching.

Looking through the books takes me right back to childhood.  I’ve been trying to decide which my favourite stories were, but it’s been hard.  Some of the stories I don’t really remember, so presumably I wasn’t so keen on them, but there’s Rumplestiltskin, The Shoemaker and the Elves, Cinderella, The Brave Little Tailor and, one of my favourites, Mother Frost:

Mother Frost is a Grimm’s tale about a girl who lives with her stepmother and stepsister (who, of course, are not nice people).   She falls into a stream, meets Mother Frost, stays for a while, has a lovely time then decides to go home.  She tells her her family and the stepsister is sent off to fall into the stream and meet Mother Frost.  Naturally, things do not work out quite so well for her!  A simple tale, but it obviously appealed to my 6yr old self.

So, back they go on to the shelves to join all the other things I cannot possibly part with!

6 thoughts on “blast from the past – school reading books

  1. They are in excellent condition! Did you ever read them? 😀

  2. Hi There…I remember reading the Grimms tales but I don’t recall that one.
    Mind you………how long ago was that????

  3. Oooh, they are just lovely. I wouldn’t part with them either!

Now it's your turn

