I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

charles dickens

6 Comments


Yesterday was the 200th anniversary of Charles Dickens’ birth – celebrated with a topical Google Doodle.   Apart from reading (not sure if I actually completed it though) Oliver Twist when I was at secondary school, the only other Dickens book I’ve read is A Christmas Carol, and that was just last year! Shameful!

Over the years I’ve watched many TV dramatisations of his novels – they are great stories, keeping you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next episode.  A couple of years ago the BBC did Bleak House, which I really enjoyed and just recently, over the Christmas break, they did Great Expectations, which was also good, but not quite as gripping for me – maybe because the actor who played the lead role looked too ‘modern’ for me.  The books always look like hard going, but I was pleasantly surprised by A Christmas Carol (despite knowing the story via the Muppet’s Christmas Carol) so perhaps I should try some others.  Any suggestions?

6 thoughts on “charles dickens

  1. Not one suggestion from me I’m afraid…haven’t read any of his stuff since schooldays.
    Hmmmm….maybe i should give it a go?

  2. Not from me, I’m afraid. From what little I remember from school, he’s a bit grim for my liking.

  3. I hope you mean Pip! 🙂

  4. Pingback: google doodles « I used to be indecisive…

Now it's your turn

