I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

world book day

6 Comments

Today is World Book Day and schools up and down the country will invite the children to ‘Dress as a Book Character’ instead of wearing their uniform and do lots of book related activities. Every child up to 18 years old and in full time education will receive a book token.

This made me think about my favourite childhood books.  I was a great fan of Enid Blyton and wished I could be one of the Famous Five having adventures and eating picnics with lashings of ginger beer (except I didn’t like ginger beer, but that was a minor technicality).  The Adventure series (Castle of Adventure, Island of Adventure etc) was also good and the children always seemed to end up in exciting and exotic places. I also remember enjoying the Narnia series, Just William, Jennings, The Bobsey Twins and the Chalet School books.

One of my earliest book memories is a series of books by Ivy Wallace about a rabbit called Pookie.  Pookie had wings and lived with Belinda, the woodcutter’s daughter, who rescued him from a terrible snowstorm.   I must have been  3 or 4 when I first read them (or had them read to me) and loved them.  The illustrations were beautiful – detailed and colourful.

Here is Pookie in all his winged glory:

Does anyone else remember Pookie?

6 thoughts on “world book day

  1. SO glad William is too old for the dressing up World Book Day thingy now – I found the whole thing very stressful!

    • I quite agree that it’s stressful! I declined to dress up this year – the marking and planning I have to do each week is stressful enough!!

  2. Sadly, no.

    I did love the FF, though.

  3. Yes, yes, yes. Pookie belonged to my brother, and I was so jealous. It was a beautiful book, with amazing illustrations, and the paper was beautiful. I kept in my room for years, and then finally admitted my crime to my brother. He took it back, he loved it too. I hope he has read it to his children. I feel as if my own children have missed out on it, and now I MUST find a copy to share with my grandchildren. Thankyou for reminding me about it.

    • Oh good – I am SO glad someone else remembers him! It would be great to get hold of a copy. I don’t know what happened to my copies, but I wish I had kept them.

  4. Pingback: tv shows – down memory lane « I used to be indecisive…

Now it's your turn

