I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: movement

13 Comments

This week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Movement.  I haven’t had the chance to take a new photo for the challenge, so here’s another one from my ice fishing trip on Lake Winnibigoshish, Minnesota.  This vehicle was clearing the ‘roads’ on the lake so that the fishermen could reach their cabins.  I love the power and movement;  the movement of the truck, and the movement of the snow as it is being pushed out of the way.

photograph © iusedtobeindecisive

This post is for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.  Click on the link for other bloggers’ photos on the subject.

13 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: movement

  1. Where were you standing? It looks like it’s about to run you down.

  2. Yep, had a same thought as Tilly…
    My first reaction was Ruuuuunnnnn!

    There was a brilliant video made a few weeks ago of a train clearing tracks of snow in New Zealand check this out, especially at just over the 1 minute mark.

    • Wow! Fabulous train footage. It’s too good to leave in my comments – can I use it in a post?

      • I first saw in the my home-town Newspaper, the Christchurch Press New Zealand… I dont know who took the video (probably the same person who posted it on You Tube?) but it’s not mine so I can’t give you permission.
        I suggest that if you use it in a post just give a link back to the original YouTube clip and’give an actual credit to who posted it, that I *think* is the proper “(n)etiquette” to do 🙂
        Glad you enjoyed it too… amazing footage isn’t it?

  3. Snow! I love the way it sprays up from a plow. The train video is amazing as well – how did the engineer know where to turn to stay on the tracks – was the train slow enough that it just followed the rails? Fantastic!

    • There’s something wonderful about how snow moves.

    • There was another YouTube videot where they interviewed one of the engineers, apparently it’s just years of practice and experience and knowing the line…. what speed to go where etc.

      In the clear stretches of track they know there is no possibility of fallen trees on the line so they can go faster.

      if you want to see the interview just search “train snow clearing New Zealand”in YouTube you should find it right away 🙂

  4. Wonderful shots…..and I’m cooling off just looking at them! 🙂

  5. It was a fun day of fishing Elaine! Too bad the fish didn’t want to bite. Next time we will travel by dogsled and stay overnight in the fishhouse.

    • It was good to at least catch a few to cook up and eat while we were there – but a big catch would have been great. Oooh, I like the idea of a dogsled!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge MOVEMENT | Project 365 Challenge in 2012

  7. A thrilling post. The power of machine over the power of nature. Awesome!

Now it's your turn

