I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

podium

4 Comments

I was watching the tv coverage of the Olympics this morning and the commentator for the cycling time trials suggested that one of our cyclists might podium today.  Podium?? As a verb??  I’m sure that used to be a noun – a word for a platform/dais/rostrum etc.  Looks like it’s the latest word to have been hijacked by the sports world to save them time during their commentaries – winning a medal is now ‘medalling’ and in Formula 1 racing, going in for a pit stop is now ‘pitting’.

Which noun will be next to be turned into a verb?  Answers on a postcard..  Or should I say ‘postcard me’?

photo courtesy of istockphoto

4 thoughts on “podium

  1. Remember the Calvin and Hobbs strip?

    Calvin: I like to verb words.
    Hobbes: What?
    Calvin: I take nouns and adjectives and use them as verbs. Remember when “access” was a thing? Now it’s something you do. It got verbed. . . . Verbing weirds language.
    Hobbes: Maybe we can eventually make language a complete impediment to understanding.

    The Olympic sponsors and athletes sell lots of gear, and it’s all “signatized.” 🙂 Such upstart verbs! Twenty years from now? probably not.

  2. I love this post, so true and so funny!

Now it's your turn

