I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

should I send you a greeting or greetings?

7 Comments

Following comments after I posted a photo for the Weekly Photo Challenge, showing a rogue apostrophe, I started to consider whether the sign was also incorrect in another aspect.  It says ‘Greetings Cards’, but… should it be ‘Greeting Cards’?

cards on display at retail.

I can find arguments for both versions being correct – the store offers a selection of cards which contain different greetings – birthday, anniversary, new job etc  so they are greetings cards. However, as each card only contains one greeting – happy birthday, good luck in your new job they should be greeting cards.

When we send a card we are sending a greeting, not a greetings.  I think I have convinced myself that the sign in the shop is incorrect…  or is it?

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “should I send you a greeting or greetings?

  1. The sign is pointing you in the direction of an entire selection of items not just one single Birthday card.
    Both the other catagories are plural, so why not the card section?
    *Within* that section you would be looking for a specific Greeting (sans “s”) card but this sign isn’t for someone already there, but for a direction to the section so my vote is strongly in favour of ” greetings” .
    How many you buy when you get there is a completely diffderent story…
    🙂

  2. Not that we know much about English here in the USA, but when you first posted I didn’t even see the DVD’s… That mistake is so common I looked right past it and the Greetings Cards jumped out at me. Greeting Cards covers it quite well without also having to make greetings plural.

    An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field.

  3. I would have to know who the card manufacturer/publisher is. If the manufacturer/publisher is the Greetings Company, then the sign should be Greetings Cards.

Now it's your turn

