I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday – kindle

38 Comments

THRILLED WITH MY NEW BIRTHDAY KINDLE

It was my birthday a few days ago and I got a Kindle – very exciting.  I’m still getting used to all the things it can do, but have already downloaded a few books onto it in readiness for going away on holiday in a couple of weeks.  I love the look and feel of ‘real’ books and think I’m being a bit disloyal to them, but it’s definitely got to be easier to put a Kindle in your handbag for a journey than a pile of paperback books.

 

For more Six Word Saturday participants have a look at Cate’s blog, Show My Face.

38 thoughts on “six word saturday – kindle

  1. Happy (belated) Birthday! Enjoy your new toy!!!

  2. I’m like you, I love the feel of a real book, however, if you are going away, you can’t beat a kindle over lugging vast quantities of real books. Happy Birthday!

  3. My wife loves her kindle. I am still old school. Perhaps one day I will leap into the 21st century.

  4. I felt like I was being unfaithful to “real” books too, but the Kindle is good, especially for travel. I try to alternate between books on Kindle and some paper-paged books. That way I still get to enjoy the feel of holding a real book!

  5. Happy Birthday….I still like books as well, but I have an iPad and read on it sometimes. I have to move into it gradually. 🙂

    Have a great day.

    Everyone stop by my blog if you like….I have a giveaway for a murder mystery.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogpsot.com

  6. Looks very fine, Elaine. Mrs. Jim needs one of those for sure. Maybe I do, I think our library has e-books for loan that would down load.
    ..

  7. Happy birthday! I started with a Nook, moved to iPad, downloaded all of the apps for reading books, including one for library books, read magazines on it, love it! Think of all the trees you’re saving – although it does make lending books to friends difficult.

  8. Divided on this one, and I hadn’t even thought about Carol’s point about lending books. I still like buying books from charity shops and stalls, and I’d be lost without my library.
    Glad you’re embracing technology for me. Belated greetings!

  9. happy birthday… I don’t own one and still love the feel of a book in my hand!

  10. I can’t decide if I’d like a Kindle or not. The idea of slipping it into my bag instead of a bundle of ‘real’ books is very appealling but I’m put off by reading on a screen. When you come back from holiday, maybe you could post again about how you got on with it?

  11. I too love actual books, and not sure I could love a Kindle, but if anyone wants to donate one, I’ll try it out!

  12. Ah a gift that will keep on giving and giving!

  13. Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you will enjoy your Kindle. I have thought about getting one…but I am so “old school”…I just don’t know if I would like it or not. You will have to let us know what you think after using it for awhile!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  14. I got a Kindle this week too! And I’m loving it. I just don’t have the room to store any more books and this way I can read what I want for half the price. I can’t wait to go on holidays in two weeks time so I can enjoy it.

  15. I am seriously wanting a Kindle! ENJOY!!

  16. Hope you had a good birthday; seems you certainly got a nifty present. 😉 I haven’t treated myself to one yet, though I did get one for my son last year, and he seems to enjoy it.

Now it's your turn

