I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday – neutral

22 Comments

SO MANY NEUTRAL SHADES – DIFFICULT CHOICE

We need to do some decorating in our house – it’s been a while since we last did it and everywhere is in need of a bit of freshening up.

I have spent the week perusing paint charts and looking at them in different lights.  We’ve decided to go for neutral shades, but there are so many different ones it’s too hard to choose!  Why can’t someone just develop a paint shade, call it Neutral and be done with it.  But no, I could have Toffee Cream, Caramel Cream, Buttermilk, Ivory, Magnolia, Vanilla, Classic Cream, Almond, Mushroom, Parchment, Light Fawn, Soothing White, Moonlight, Contemporary, Driftwood or Biscuit and that is just a small selection of what’s on offer from one of the paint manufacturers.

It’s enough to give me a headache…  I need to lie down in a calm and soothing coloured room…  🙂

 

photo courtesy of colourbox.com

 

For more Six Word Saturday participants have a look at Cate’s blog, Show My Face.

22 thoughts on “six word saturday – neutral

  1. Ha! I find this amusing…that it involves so many choices for the “indecisive” one! (:>) You probably can’t go wrong with most neutrals. Happy Painting!

  2. Ahhh! And “soothing” colors are a whole addtional list to your neutral ones! 😉 Yes, it is so hard to visualize what a color is going to look like in your room covering all the walls. Pick your three favorites, toss them in a bowl and pull one out… there it is! 🙂

  3. Yeah I recall My Beloved Sandra putting down 5-6 “shades of white” before me when we were getting ready to paint at the old house. “Tundra, Snowbank, Winter Fog, etc,etc,etc” all looked pretty much the same to me. When I just pointed at one w/o due consideration, it almost caused a divorce!

  4. You could go bold? (says she, whose walls are also cream, but with occasional red poppies on) I quite like a contrast wall.
    It’s time I started serious nagging to get some decorating done in ours- sigh!

  5. we always shied away from magnolia type colours – they are actually quite ‘dead’ and I always think they actually take the life out of your room – we once painted our lounge a very soft grey – which sounds strange but it was actually lovely … be interested to hear your choice in the end – or perhaps you should post up some colour swatches of your shortlist and we’ll all choose for you! 😉
    happy painiting – whatever you choose – and remember the end result will be worth all the work!

  6. lol, I remember the confusion and difficulty making paint color decisions….since I too am often indecisive, being a Libra, I left it up to my husband….what a cop-out

  7. We’ve repainted our home from one neutral (a somewhat buttery cream) to another (a light brown). It’s so crazy that there are so many choices. Hope you found what you’re looking for!

  8. Nice work ahead for you, Elaine. I hope we never have to do all that again. Retouch, yes, that will be okay.
    ..

  9. Put the colour swatches against your largest piece of furniture and see it they blend/change/clash. Even neutrals have elements of other colours, pinky or yellowy, cold or warm. Is the room bright or gloomy? Sorry, I’m no help at all!

Now it's your turn

