I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

I didn’t know that…

11 Comments

I was teaching Year 6  (10/11 year olds) yesterday and we had five minutes left at the end of the day after the lessons were finished and the tidying up had been done.  I asked the children to tell me something interesting that they felt sure I didn’t already know.  Here’s a small selection of them.  I hope you will make notes because you never know when you might need these invaluable facts!

  • Pigs prefer to lie on their right hand side.
  • In their life, the average human produces enough saliva to fill two standard (25m) swimming pools.
  • There are two golf balls on the moon.
  • Jonathan Trott (an English cricket player) has changed the make of cricket bat he uses.
  • A baby rhino weighs the same as 8 adult humans.
  • The average person eats 65 apples a year.
  • A chicken turns her eggs up to 50 times a day to stop the embryo from sticking to the shell.

They were so keen to tell me things I didn’t already know that one boy even came running back into the classroom after I had sent them home, to inform me that he had just spotted new yellow litter bins in the playground (the old ones were blue), and he thought I might not already know that!

picture from speedyshelters.co.uk

11 thoughts on “I didn’t know that…

  1. Aren’t children amazing. I love this idea and I will try this with my Year Threes, who are 8 and 9 years old tomorrow. I’ll get back to you!

  2. Out the mouths of babes. I just love this.

  3. What a great idea, I bet the children loved it. It reminds me of when my son was taught by the teacher he adored Mrs R – one day he told me lots of very interesting information and when I asked if they’d had that in lessons at school he replied ” no we haven’t had any lessons today, we just chatted with Mrs R” He learned so much from her and her “chats”.

  4. What a wonderful way to get all the children involved and interested!

  5. I love this post!

    The stuff kids know is weird 🙂

    That last little by was so cute.

Now it's your turn

