I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

spanish stealth slug

4 Comments

I was driving home from doing some shopping yesterday, and thinking what I would blog about, when an interesting item came on the radio. They were talking about how 2012 seems to have been a particularly bad year for slugs and snails here in the UK.  The interviewer asked the expert about an invader to our shores – the Spanish Stealth Slug.  So it made me think, how could a slug be anything other than stealthy?  They don’t exactly announce their arrival in the garden with a fanfare of trumpets and great stamping of their hob-nail boots.  They don’t rev an engine, or shout aloud “Yee ha!  Here I come!”  During the day they are not there, then in the evening, or after a shower of rain, there they are.  All over the grass or, worse, all over your favourite plants.  They have arrived entirely by stealth, so surely ALL slugs are stealth slugs?  Perhaps these particular Spanish ones arrive by some kind of stealth bomber type aerial transport, and are parachuted into our gardens.  Or perhaps they have cloaks of invisibility which they throw off once they are in position after crawling from wherever they hid during the day.

My garden was covered with the nasty slimy creatures this spring and summer, but I have no idea if they were Spanish or not – I didn’t think to question them and find out if they spoke with a Spanish accent!

Was your garden invaded this year too?

photo credit bbc.co.uk

4 thoughts on “spanish stealth slug

  1. Stealth slugs – no I’ve heard it all.

  2. Apparently another new variety of slug is a ‘Killer Slug’. The mind boggles! 🙂

  3. No slug problems for me, I only have a deck 🙂
    Thank you for your visit and comment on my blog 🙂

  4. When we were in Germany last year, we were fascinated by the giant orange slugs we saw in the forests. They wouldn’t be stealthy because they were so brightly coloured you would see them coming from a mile away.!

Now it's your turn

