I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

an ikea trip survived

6 Comments

I made it!  I survived unscathed from my trip to Ikea yesterday.

Saturday wouldn’t be my normal choice of day to visit Ikea, but the friend I was going with is only free to go at the weekends.  We expected it to be very busy and decided just to go with the flow and not get stressed by the crowds.  Finding a parking space wasn’t too difficult and yes, the shop was busy, but it could have been a lot, lot worse!   We thought we got off quite lightly actually.

We started by heading for the restaurant for a drink and cake to fortify ourselves for the task ahead.  My cake was rather tasty, and describes itself as almond cake with butterscotch pieces, although I didn’t notice any sort of almond flavour.  Sorry about the slightly blurry photo.  You used to be able to get a decent sized mug for hot drinks in the restaurant, but they have changed them for something more child-sized – a little bit bigger than an espresso cup, but only just.  I wonder what the reasoning behind that is?  Saving water?  Anyway, here’s a slightly blurry photo of my piece of cake.  I forgot to include the mug in the photo.

krokant cake

Fortified, we set off on our trek round the store, following the arrows on the floor to make sure we missed nothing.  Of course, we did miss things, which we didn’t realise until we got to the checkout and my friend hadn’t got everything on her list.  Oh well.  It would have taken a while to make our way back and find the missed things so she decided just to leave it.

My trip was successful and I got everything I needed – storage boxes.  I also managed not too be too impulsive, and only some scented tea light candles and paper napkins made it into my trolley alongside the boxes.  I was quite proud of myself!

6 thoughts on “an ikea trip survived

  1. I have never been to Ikea! But by coincidence my daughter went to the store in Brisbane on Saturday. She bought a new desk. I do like the look of your cake. Have a nice Sunday. Carol.

  2. Well done!

    I’ve only ever been to Ikea once and I really liked it.

  3. next time hunt out a Dime bar cake – they are so lush!
    you have much better willpower than me – always end up with a trolley load whenever we shop there!

Now it's your turn

