I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

gone bananas

1 Comment

Not a reference to my self-imposed challenge to post something every day for a month (two thirds of the way now – phew), but to the fact that I’ve been baking.  Last week I had some left over bananas – the kind that don’t look at all attractive to eat because they’ve gone black in places and a bit squishy – so thought I’d make a banana loaf.  A first for me! I don’t eat bananas (it’s not that I don’t like them, but they don’t like me!) so I can’t comment on the taste of the cake – but the smell was delicious.

Here’s the finished result – looks quite good though I say so myself:

It’s a Mary Berry one, from this book, which I’ve had for years and use a lot.

If you fancy having a go, here’s the recipe:

Banana Loaf Cake

1 teaspoon  bicarbonate of soda

2 tablespoons boiling milk

100g (4oz) soft margarine

175g (6oz) caster sugar

2 eggs, beaten

2 ripe bananas, mashed

225g (8oz) plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 4, 350˚F (180˚C).

Lightly grease and base line a 900g (2lb) loaf tin with greaseproof paper or baking parchment.

Stir the bicarbonate of soda into the milk in a large bowl.  Cool slightly.  Measure all of the remaining ingredients into the bowl and beat well until thoroughly blended.

Turn the cake mixture into the prepared tin and bake for about  1 hour or until well risen, golden brown and springy to the touch.  Turn out and leave to cool on a wire rack.

Serve sliced by itself or spread with bread and butter.

One thought on “gone bananas

  1. I love banana loaf. We call it banana bread 🙂

Now it's your turn

