I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

the good old days of eating in the UK

8 Comments

I saw this posted on Facebook and thought it was good enough to share. The original title was about eating in the UK in the fifties, but I think this could easily extend to the sixties.

I haven’t included the whole list here – just the things that I remember most.

Do you remember when?

Pasta was something foreign

Olive oil was kept in the medicine cabinet

Spices came from the Middle East where they were used for embalming

Herbs were used to make rather dodgy medicine

Take away was a mathematical problem

Pizza was something to do with a leaning tower in Italy

All crisps were plain, and the only choice was whether to open the little blue twist of paper and sprinkle the salt on or not

Coke was something we put on the fire

Rice was a pudding and never part of our main course

A Big Mac was what we wore when it was raining

Oil was for lubricating things, fat was for cooking

Bread and jam was a treat

Cubed sugar was regarded as posh

Coconuts only appeared when the fair came to town

None of us had ever heard of yoghurt

People who didn’t peel potatoes were regarded as lazy

Indian restaurants were restaurants in India

Eating outside was called a picnic

Cooking outside was called camping

Hot dogs were a type of sausage that only the Americans ate

Do these bring back memories for anyone else?  Of course, I’m far too young to remember the fifties, or the sixties.  😉

fifties family meal

8 thoughts on “the good old days of eating in the UK

  1. I can remember some of the sixties and all of the seventies and I think it was the same then too. Our first McDonalds opened in the late seventies…it was the “in” place!

  2. Mushrooms were a luxury item…

  3. I remember almost all of them. One I really remember–and miss so much–is when you could rake up all your leaves, jump in them with your friends, rake them up again, and then burn them. The smell was wonderful on a chilly evening, and we’d roast marshmallows.

  4. Oooh, Salt and Shake crisps! There were more flavours than that when I was little, but I loved Salt & Shake.

    I still think sugar cubes are for posh people!

    • They didn’t used to be called Salt & Shake in the 60s – they were just crisps. The salt came in a little blue twist of paper. I remember them being re-launched as Salt & Shake and was disappointed to find that the salt was now in a little packet which you had to tear open. 🙂

Now it's your turn

