I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

12.12.12

8 Comments

Today’s date is interesting – we haven’t had one of these ones, where all the numbers are the same,  for thirteen months.

The bonus of a date like this is that no matter how you write it – forwards, backwards, upside down – it has the same meaning on both sides of the North Atlantic Ocean –  which means that everyone will know what they are talking about!  I’ve been caught out in the past with how dates are written – take 8.12.12, for example.  To me, that date is the eighth day of December 2012, but in the USA it means the twelfth day of August 2012. Very confusing, but at least today, there can be no confusion!

Actually, I realise I don’t know how they write dates in Canada – is it like us, or like America?   What about other countries?

North Atlantic Ocean
picture credit en.wikipedia.org

8 thoughts on “12.12.12

  1. Yes, I’ve had American readers wondering what my fuss was about because of backwards – to them – dates.

  2. We write dates the same way you do. I agree, sometimes the American way catches me out. Kind of like driving on the wrong side of the road…how confusing. And scary…

  3. Smallest number to largest number (our way) makes sense. The official international standard (YYYY-MM-DD, e.g. 2012-12-13) sort of makes sense, at least it goes from big to small. The American way of mixing everything up is just plain strange!

Now it's your turn

