I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

the same songs over and over again

6 Comments

As regular readers will know, I like Christmas and on the 1st of December I got out my Christmas mugs, tea towels, cushions, crockery etc and music CDs.  I’ve listened to almost all of my CD collection now and it’s a mix of pop, easy listening and classical music.  Quite a nice selection I like to think.

However, much as I like Christmas music, I am having a big problem with hearing the same small number of songs being played in the shops and on the radio  – Do They Know it’s Christmas, Mistletoe and Wine,  Fairytale of New York (my least favourite of them all I think),  Merry Xmas Everybody, I wish it could be Christmas Every Day …  I think every shop must have the same ‘Party’ CD!  When I hear the same song yet again, I think can’t we have some new songs? Or, can’t we have some of the old ‘easy listening’ ones like White Christmas, Winter Wonderland or even Frosty the Snowman?  To hear them when I go shopping, or turn on the radio would make a nice change.

This made me wonder – would I be saying the same thing if it was a traditional carol selection I was hearing everywhere I went?  It’s lovely to hear the old, traditional carols, and great to join in and sing them too.  I never get fed up with them – so why do I get fed up with the same old ‘pop’ stuff?

6 thoughts on “the same songs over and over again

  1. My daughter worked in a retail store for several years while she was at high school and uni and the Christmas music drove her crazy. She said it was the same tracks over and over again. I doubt she even owns a Christmas CD now. I must ask her…

  2. I’m avoiding (as always) the shops, so I’m not suffering from hearing the same music constantly. I guess there are benefits to hating shopping.

  3. Aww, I LOVE Fairytale of New York. What I really, really hate is Stop the Cavalry by Jona Louie (not sure how he’s spelled). Luckily the Germans have never heard of it – we just get bombarded with Feliz Navidad, which I hear once then have in my head for the next 3 days!!

  4. I don’t know the answer to your question, but I do know I feel the same way. I guess when it comes to Christmas music I’m a traditionalist.

  5. I was in Sainsbury’s for, like, forever today, Elaine, and they had the easy listening songs you mentioned being played. Over and over.

Now it's your turn

