I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday – how was it for you?

29 Comments

QUIET WINTER SOLSTICE – NO PREDICTED APOCALYPSE

So…. how was the end of the world for you?  Yesterday was the winter solstice here in the northern hemisphere and, in addition, was supposed to be the end of the world.  Personally I didn’t notice much difference from any normal day…  Got up, had breakfast, went out with my mum for coffee, had lunch, tidied up, wrapped some presents, popped in to a blog party, went to the supermarket (last time, I hope, till after Christmas), made dinner… you know, all the usual stuff.  If the end of the world happened it certainly didn’t make a fuss.

I think there should have been some kind of celebration, though, of either a) the fact that the Mayans were wrong and it didn’t happen or b) we’re all safely here together on the other side.  It seems quite wrong to let it pass by unmarked.  There should have been a firework display at the very least!

Have a look at Cate’s blog for more Six Word Saturdays.

29 thoughts on “six word saturday – how was it for you?

  1. Fireworks would have been damp squibs in all this rain! Happy Christmas.

  2. It was great for me…! But yes, Elaine; fireworks would have been good! 😉

  3. yes I can’t say I noticed anything different yesterday!!

  4. yesterday was the shortest day of the year. Why was I so busy?

  5. I was at work. You’d have thought we’d get the day off just in xase the world DID end 😉

  6. I feel rather sorry for the Mayans; it’s like getting blamed because somebody found your old calendar lying around.

  7. Here in The Northeast Kingdom, the world actually did come to an end…briefly.

  8. Well, world actually ended long time ago. All I can see is ghosts everywhere!

    Bhooo!!

  9. Some of my students were still stressing it at just before noon because somewhere along the way they heard noon was the time. Made me laugh.

  10. I forgot to add…
    Merry Christmas to you and yours. And enjoy the much earned break. 🙂

  11. I paid no attention at all to the silly prediction of the end of the world prediction! Ha! As a Christian I do believe in Christ’s return, and then someday there will be a new heavens and a new earth, and nobody knows when that will be. I also know that I am glad to be alive today…and each and everyday, as I enjoy my life with my hubby …and my kids, and grandkids, and my friends! Life is good! (:>) Happy Six Word Saturday!…and

    Merry Christmas!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  12. Pingback: End of The World | life at the intersection

  13. Viv’s right about the damp squib, sadly. I’m getting so used to jumping in the puddles, it’s started to lose it’s appeal. Not long till the New Year fireworks anyway, Elaine. They’ll be wonderful.

  14. Fireworks would have been great!

  15. The apocalypse was exactly the way I like, quiet and uneventful. 🙂

    Merry (belated) Christmas. Happy New Year. And a wonderful 6WS, too! 🙂

Now it's your turn

