I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

apparently aliens love underpants

14 Comments

At work yesterday, where I was taking a Year 1 class (aged 5 and 6), I was introduced to a new book – well, it was new to me, but it was published in 2007.  It’s called Aliens Love Underpants by Claire Freedman and Ben Cort

aliens love underpants

It’s a simple, rhyming story about aliens who love underpants so much that they come to earth to steal them from washing lines, or to use the ones that are hanging out to dry to play games.  In the course of reading the book aloud to the class some interesting questions came up – “Aren’t underpants just for boys?  Some of these look like girls’ ones.”, “What are bloomers?”, “What are Long Johns?”  Who’d have thought that an interesting discussion on different types of underwear would form part of my teaching day!

At the back of the book, the two end pages are covered with drawings of different styles and colours of underpants.  We had a vote on which were the best ones – the ‘Pirate’ ones with the skull and crossbones on were very popular, as were the red trimmed white pair with the red heart in the centre.  It was almost the most enthusiastic the children had been all day!

alien underpants

My favourites are the blue and white spotted bloomers!  Which ones would you choose?  🙂

 

14 thoughts on “apparently aliens love underpants

  1. My first choice would be pants with a picture of a black sheep, but as they are not available the pirate ones. In the news yesterday it was announced that David Cameron gets his pants from Marks and Spencers !!! I bet they don’t have a scull and cross bones on.

    I didn’t realise you were a teacher, you would get on great with Mrs Sensible, she teaches over here.

  2. I’m with the kids – the ones with the heart are great! I also like the purple ones with the stars.

  3. I like your bloomers too! … but the purple ones with stars would make me feel like I could be Wonder woman!

  4. Cute! I like the bloomers.

  5. Pink stripey bloomers for me…

  6. My kids like that story. There’s one about dinosaurs and underpants as well in the same series.

  7. I was introduced to this book a couple of years ago whilst babysitting, the kid I was babysitting was a little boy of 3 who insisted that he would have the red and white spotty pants on the front of the book, as they looked the most comfy 🙂

  8. Oh, I just found this now….how cute is this! And you’re a teacher? Sounds quite fun!

  9. I’ve never read this post…how could I have missed it? I saw it in your sidebar and clicked to have a look. Anything that children deem to be a little naughty will always be popular and undies are about as naughty as you can get when you’re five years old.

Now it's your turn

