I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday: a week in Scotland

49 Comments

A BIT OF THE LOCAL COUNTRYSIDE

My week in Scotland has been very busy.  Last weekend was spent driving from my mum’s to my sister’s, to train stations in Stirling and Edinburgh to pick family members up, to a lovely restaurant for my mum’s birthday meal, dropping Mr I back at the station to return to London, dropping Idaughter off at her accommodation for the start of her working week with the ballet in Glasgow…  By Monday night we were back at my mum’s and ready for a rest!

The remainder of the week was slightly more relaxed as I helped my mum with a few jobs that she would have found hard to complete on her own, and took her out for shopping and for coffee/lunch.  Yesterday, when the weather was lovely for part of the day, we went for a drive in the hills where she lives, and where I grew up,  – just to admire the views and the countryside.  I took a few photos which give a bit of an idea of the area.  It’s looking a bit bleak and windswept at this time of year, but when the sun shines (which it does do occasionally!) it looks great.

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

Visit Cate’s blog for more Six Word Saturdays.

49 thoughts on “six word saturday: a week in Scotland

  1. I so would love to go to Scotland one day!! Thanks for sharing the photos!
    Your week, although busy maybe, sounds lovely! Wish you a good rest of your stay there!

  2. Oh I do love Scotland. Would love to be back there again for a visit. Hope you manage to get some more relaxation in and some more sunny days to enjoy.

  3. Great photos, Elaine… I’ve never been to Scotland but don’t live that far away, funnily enough… love the photo with the wind turbines!

  4. Ad just a few more trees & these could be photos taken in my back yard (northern Vermont [US]). thanks for bringing us along!

  5. Lovely photos. They sky looks so blue in the first one!

  6. lovely views, my only visit to Scotland was as a teenager way back in ’77 gulp where does the time go to. Would love to go again but it hasn’t been possible yet but I never say never.

    I have to visit my mother this weekend (I don’t see her nearly enough since I moved last summer) to fix her bedroom curtain and hang up her bird feeders for her. I couldn’t bear to be more than half an hour away from her because I know she relies on me when she gets herself in a fix. She will be 70 in April but has had to use a crutch since her first(of several) op on her knee 6 years ago, so I know she is going to be relying on me more and more.

    It is lovely that you have managed to have a good week with your mother 🙂

  7. I am sure I shall now that 3/4 of my boys have left home to educate themselves in various establishments (with drinking facilities attached)across the country and my baby boy spends most of his time with friends because his evil mother moved him away from his home town last summer.

  8. 🙂 Hi Elaine ~~ Your pictures are great, the make me want to return.
    I looked hard for the sheep that I saw here before, I think perhaps there are a few in the middle of the bottome picture.

    We will be doing the same as you, but driving through the Houston traffic this week instead of the country hills. My younger cousin and wife are coming today from Nebraska. We call the folk who come south here in the winter ‘snow birds.’

    Our travels will be through the Houston traffic. I want take them to ride on the inspection boat in the Houston Ship channel. When you come I will take you folk there too.
    ..
    p.s. Loved your road work picture in last Saturday’s post.

    Jim’s Six Words for the 16th
    ..

  9. Just my favourite kind of countryside, and as for those fabulous skies…………

  10. So beautiful! I would love to go there one day.

  11. Great pictures! Can hardly wait to visit this summer.

  12. Scotland! That is awesome!

  13. It’s beautiful countryside, Elaine. I always meant to get to Stirling, but never yet have. We tended to go up the west coast, and these days our priorities are different. Still on my list though, along with some of those east coast fishing villages like Pittenweem.
    Remind me- does your daughter dance, or is she in the theatrical management side?
    Home soon for a rest, huh.

  14. We love Scotland- especially have enjoyed Edinburgh and the Inverness area where our friends have a lovely croft. Thanks for jiggling my memories with the photos! Scotland is such a beautiful place full of such friendly folks!

  15. Lovely views – and blue sky as well! Fabulous.

  16. Call me shallow but the only thing I can focus on is the realisation that you must be Scottish. 🙂

  17. Great reminder of my trip through that very area many, many years ago!

  18. We have never been to Scotland. However, we are coming this summer. We are looking at making Inverness our base for six months. Would you consider that a good choice?

    • Yes, I think Inverness would be a good base for exploring – particularly the Highlands. It’s not an area I am very familiar with, unfortunately, apart from brief visits on my way through to somewhere else!

    • If it’s for a whole six months I’d maybe recommend Perth because is is more physically central – and its not far to all the main cities – Dundee, Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh. But if you are wanting wild areas and to do lots of hills and dramatic landscapes – maybe Inverness is the way to go. It depends how far north you plan to go. I am very familiar with the surroundings of Inverness – but I’ve never had cause to go much further north that Dornoch – although Dunrobin Castle is worth a visit. If it is castles you are after – Aberdeenshire is the place.
      Six months! Hope you have a great time. I predict good weather this year 🙂

  19. Glad you had a good trip to Scotland. I always thought it would be nice to visit there.
    I have been to England for a month…but we never got to Scotland.

    Have a lovely Saturday!

    Linda

  20. Your photos are lovely. We so enjoyed ourselves when we were in Scotland and it’s my dream to go there again and spend a few weeks roaming and exploring. It’s on my to-do list. Safe travel home again!

  21. Lucky you and stunning photos!

  22. I want to go to Scotland and England so badly! I love the photos you shared here.

Now it's your turn

