I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

haggis flavoured snack anyone?

26 Comments

When I was doing some shopping for my mum I spotted these potato crisps/chips on the supermarket shelves.

haggis crisps

Perhaps it’s because I don’t like haggis, but I can’t imagine why anyone would want to eat this flavour!

For those of you not familiar with haggis, it is a traditional Scottish dish made from minced sheep’s pluck (heart, liver, lungs) mixed with onion, oatmeal, herbs and seasoning and encased in a sheep’s stomach.  To cook it is boiled in water for about three hours and is traditionally served with mashed potato and turnip.

Do you think you would like to try them?

26 thoughts on “haggis flavoured snack anyone?

  1. When I was in Scotland, I did try Haggis (although I’d said I wouldn’t) and, remarkably, quite liked it. However, I cannot imagine eating snacks that are haggis flavoured, that just seems weird.

  2. Do you remember Hedgehog flavoured crisps in the early 1980s ? I think Tudor Crisps made them.

  3. One serve of haggis was enough for me!

  4. I tried Haggis, and I actually didn’t mind it although I’m not sure I could eat a whole serving.

    I would probably try the crisps just to find out whether they actually do taste like haggis! The German Bratwurst flavour that Walkers did for the last world cup genuinely did taste like Bratwurst. It was amazing… and slightly bizarre.

  5. I love them! I once posted a photo almost identical to the one here in response to a Photo Challenge prompt called “Indulge”.

    http://weescoops.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/weekly-photo-challenge-indulge/

    I know that any diet I am pretending to be on is effectively over when I buy these, and sit and eat them.

    *checks cupboard and is disappointed*

    • I noticed that they also come in small packets, as opposed to the mega-bag I took a picture of. The downside is that the small packets were in multi-packs (along with Aberdeen Angus flavour and Scotch Bonnet, I think) so perhaps that wouldn’t help the diet after all!

  6. I HAVE tried these! They’re delicious – very peppery. But then I like haggis.

  7. Elaine, I have a problem where if I don’t like the sound of something I instantly have a feeling I won’t like the taste of it. Haggis is one of those things so I’ve never tried it. I do like odd-flavoured crisps though…

  8. I don’t think we have anything quite like it here. I would love to give them a try!

  9. The very thought of haggis makes my blood run cold.

Now it's your turn

