I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

jumping over the skipping rope

23 Comments

I had a great afternoon at work yesterday.  Actually the whole day went well (teaching Year 4 – 8 and 9 yr olds), but the afternoon finished on a high.  The school is having its annual ‘get fit’ half term which means that every Thursday afternoon from now until the Easter break, just for half an hour, the whole school (pupils and staff) takes part in some exercise (in addition to the regular timetabled P.E. lessons).  In previous years the focus has been on running/jogging/walking (your choice) round the school grounds trying to improve your performance each week.  This year, however, it has been decided to concentrate on skipping with ropes, and so for the last half an hour of the school day we all went outside onto the playground and had great fun.

A girl is rope skipping in front of an old doo...

A girl is rope skipping in front of an old door in Nepal (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The sun was shining, the temperature was cool but not freezing, and 240 children and about 15 staff were out there skipping!  Half of the children had individual ropes and the other half formed into groups of about 10 and used a long rope, with a child at each end and the others taking turns to jump in and out without tripping and stopping the rope.  After fifteen minutes a whistle blew and we swapped to the other type of skipping for the remainder of the time.

I was very proud of myself and managed to remember quite a few of my skipping skills from the ‘olden days’ when taking ropes to school was allowed and we played with them at break times.  I am expecting my legs to suffer a bit for a day or two though!

23 thoughts on “jumping over the skipping rope

  1. Oh gosh, I used to LOVE skipping. I wasn’t a sporty child, hopeless at team games, so always among the last to be picked for teams. But I was brilliant at skipping with a long rope. I just had the timing to run in and out as necessary. What a great idea at the school.

  2. Oooh, I always loved skipping! I still remember the rhymes. What a fun afternoon 😀

  3. Did you remember any skipping rhymes? I found that my children have learned kind of sanitised versions of the ones I used to sing.

    • The rhymes I remember are;

      In comes the doctor,
      In comes the nurse,
      In comes the lady with the alligator purse.
      Out goes the doctor
      Out goes the nurse
      Out goes the lady with the alligator purse

      Knees up Mother Brown
      Knees up Mother Brown
      Knees up, knees up, don’t get (?) the breeze up
      Knees up Mother Brown
      Jelly on a plate
      Jelly on a plate
      Wibble wobble wibble wobble
      Jelly on a plate
      There were more verses to this one, but I can’t remember them

      There were other rhymes which involved counting, I’m sure, but I’ll have to search the recesses of my memory a bit more for them!

      • Thanks for these – the first one is one that has been sanitised. When I was wee the first verse was ” I had a little brother, his name was tiny tim, I put him in the bathtub to see if he could swim; he drank all the water, ate all the soap and died last night with a bubble in his throat” – But my kids have it and it is a puppy and he just chokes on the bubble…

      • How about

        I’m a little girl guide dressed in blue
        These are the actions I have to do
        [with actions at this point]
        Bow to the captain, salute to the queen
        And show my knickers to the football team.

        Or
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, turn around
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, touch the ground
        [Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, can’t remember this line or the next]
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, go upstairs
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, say your prayers
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, switch out the light
        Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, say good night.

        Or
        Vote vote vote for dear Elaine [who is skipping]
        Call in Iota from next door [at this point, Iota joins in the skipping]
        Now Iota is a lady and she’s going to have a baby
        So we don’t want Elaine any more [at which, Elaine leaves]
        Shut the door!
        Vote vote vote for dear Iota
        etc etc

        See. I told you I loved skipping.

        • Thanks for these – although the teddy bear teddy bear you cite is the santized version. In my day it was “Spanish lady turn around… touch the groung… do high kicks…. show your knicks!”

        • but… I suppose you had the knickers one in the guide one. We had the vote one but it was vote vote vote for Elaine, here comes Iota at the door, Iota is the one that we all like the best so we don’t want Elaine any more shut the door. Then there was something garbled about Mrs More?…

  4. I used to love the skipping rope games during break at junior school. What a lovely memory. Well done remembering some of it now. Wonder if I would?

  5. I was never a good skipper, Elaine. I used to have to skip when I went to boxing training. I was never a good boxer either, so each cancelled the other out I suppose. Good to hear you had fun with your skipping!

  6. Aren’t your children allowed to have skipping ropes at school? That seems like overkill, but then again so do lots of other silly beaurocratic decisions.

    • No, they are not allowed to bring skipping ropes, balls, any type of collections of things that they could swap or share with their friends etc. It’s such a shame. It’s not the same everywhere – some schools allow it, and some schools provide small games equipment for the children at break times.

  7. I loved jumping rope, especially the big double ones. I’m shocked to hear kids can’t bring jump ropes to school anymore. So that’s the reason kids can’t do it anymore. I had no idea!

Now it's your turn

