I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

like – a four letter word

20 Comments

I thought I’d, like, write a post about a four letter word that can be, like, really irritating…  It’s, like, one of my pet hates – almost as bad as, like, apostrophes in the wrong places.   It makes it, like, hard to follow what someone is, like, saying when this word is, like, punctuating all their sentences.

Why can, like,  children and young people (and a few older people) not construct, like, a complete sentence without, like, using the word ‘like’?  It drives me, like, mad.

At work, I had got so fed up hearing it every time the children spoke, that I challenged them recently to speak on a given subject for 30 seconds without using the word ‘like’.  They really struggled!  Even the most articulate volunteer in the class (of 9 – 10 yr olds) couldn’t manage it – she barely got past the first half dozen words before she used it!  She was trying to describe her bedroom and every time she started to speak she used it before she got to the end of the sentence.  The poor girl was horrified at how often she was saying it.

It’s not a problem if it’s being used to mean ‘similar to’ or to explain that you find something agreeable, but when it’s, like, just there for, like, no reason at all… aaaaaaarrgghh!

no entry to like

no entry sign created by the fair hand of iusedtobeindecisive herself

20 thoughts on “like – a four letter word

  1. Ha! I just clicked Like! It used to be a fashion here a couple of years ago but it seems to have died a natural death. Maybe there is hope yet.

  2. I thought it was mostly Americans who spoke like that.

    In the North East, we put like on the end of sentences, as in “Are you not coming, like?”.

  3. Elaine, I take it you no like like? me neither… so I did like this post 🙂

  4. This reminds me of when I was a kid and the teacher made us write a composition without using “nice”. I guess she got irritated with us using it in every uttering, too. We thought it was torture!
    I mustn’t mention this in my classes or I’ll have some smartass sprinkling “like” all over his/her text just to fulfill the “number of words” quota!

  5. Oh I do like this post. I also dislike like used in this way. So irritating…but why? Are ‘eh’ or ‘um’ as bad? What is it about ‘like’ that sets our teeth on edge?

  6. I only use it, like, ironically.

  7. I, like, quite agree with you here, like.;

  8. I don’t hear, like, used so much here anymore in MN. What I do hear is, “I mean” or ‘You Know”. This is especially upsetting when I don’t know or the first words of your conversation are like I mean…

  9. It’s like they wuz trained, like.
    Sorry, Elaine… I used to say like a lot when I was younger. The like you’re referring to, I mean!!! I like this post, by the way! 😉

  10. Good challenge. You should make it a regular thing with different words 🙂

  11. I, like, blame the Americans.

Now it's your turn

