I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

chocolate – can you afford not to eat it?

19 Comments

LOTS OF CHOCOLATE IN THE HOUSE (but we are being very good and waiting till Sunday)

Time for a chocolate post – especially as it’s the Easter weekend and there’s the prospect of an Easter Egg or two.  🙂

I came across these two quotes on James and Terri’s blog Gallivance.

“My therapist told me the way to achieve true inner peace
 is to finish what I start. So far today, 
I have finished 2 bags of M&M’s and a chocolate cake.
I feel better already.”
– Dave Barry

“Your hand and your mouth agreed many years ago that, 
as far as chocolate is concerned, 
there is no need to involve your brain.”  
–Dave Barry

I couldn’t agree more!  😀

English: Choc Rose Cake

Choc Rose Cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just in case you (or someone dear to you 😉 ) need some persuading about the benefits of eating chocolate:

1.  Chocolate is a valuable energy source.  There is enough energy in a chocolate chip for an adult human to walk 150 ft (45 metres).

2.  Chocolate has great health benefits. It helps with depression, high blood pressure and pre-menstrual syndromes. Chocolate is able to act as an anti-depressant by increasing serotonin and endorphin levels in the brain.

3.  Eating one or two servings of dark chocolate a week can cut the risk of heart failure.

4.  A square of dark chocolate each day can lower blood pressure.

5.  Eating chocolate can add an instant glow to your face – people have been eating it for centuries to keep themselves looking fresh and healthy.

6.  Chocolate can improve cognitive function.

I think there is enough ammunition there to convince anyone that they should make their way immediately to the nearest chocolate-selling establishment and invest in a few bars!

photo credit: topfoodfacts.com

photo credit: topfoodfacts.com

This post is part of Six Word Saturday.  Pop over to Show My Face to see more sets of six words.

19 thoughts on “chocolate – can you afford not to eat it?

  1. Love the quotes, Elaine, and that cake definitely looks too good to eat.
    I’m hopeful.

  2. One of my Brother’s in Law has a life long condition where all sweet things taste bitter, in fact the more sweet, the more bitter.
    Needless to say he eats zero sugar, has probably the best teeth on the planet but is difficult to cook for, even sweet fruits and veggies like sweet corn or carrots are on the no-no list.
    I have no clue if his condition is linked to the fact that he is the black sheep of the family because he so acidic, hurtful, negative and forceful with everything he says to everyone that they have withdrawn contact, but I seriously wonder if maybe the total lack of “happy endorphins” has effected his personality… but even this mother admits that he was not a child with sweet temper or personality either.
    I can only wish he could eat chocolate, it might do him absolute wonders.

  3. So distracted by the chocolate, Elaine, that I forgot to say “Happy Easter”!

    • Yes, I forgot to say “Happy Easter! too !… Cake and Bil’s are very distracting.

      We have some eggs stashed for an Easter egg hunt with kids on Sunday but the soft filled Bailey’s Irish Cream ones I made with Kiwi Daughter and one of her school friends on Thursday after school are loooone gone. (Now I have to make some more for tomorrows guests)

  4. And in Harry Potter it is used as a cure-all. That is enough for me!

  5. I’ve never had any choclate. Maybe this will be my year, eh? (heh heh heh)

  6. Yum! Yum! Yum! I am an all-out chocolate lover, and I’m now craving chocolate at 7:12 in the morning. Thank you for sharing these lovely quotes. I must pass them on.

  7. Thank you for the good advice, Elaine. We try to do our share around here. Most every night before bed we have chocolate with our ice cream. Last night it was a shared chocolate coated cake ball. Sooo yummy!!!

    I get Dave Berry every day in my inbox. Do you? I might could find the link again.
    ..

  8. Very amusing!
    In the face of temptation I’ve always found that the best policy is to yield. It’s so much more fun…..
    Have a great weekend.

  9. Great quotes and very good advice! Have a wonderful Easter. ☺

  10. I have all of the excuses I need now to eat chocolate. Thanks! Happy Easter!

  11. Now you made me want to go get some chocolate!

  12. I am now off to get some chocolate… Happy Easter to you!

  13. Mmmm, chocolate. I suspect I won’t be getting any this weekend. The boyfriend certainly won’t have thought to buy me an egg.

    Happy Easter!

  14. Love these quotes…love chocolate 🙂

  15. Elaine, the pictures and the word chocolate say it all for me!

  16. Chocolate is a necessary evil…right?

  17. I didn’t need any convincing about having more chocolate! Hope you had a lovely Easter.

Now it's your turn

