I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

five a day

16 Comments

The WordPress Daily Prompt was:

You’ve been exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

1.  Freshly baked baguette with butter (I am going to make that count as one, even though it is two, and it has to be genuine French baguette, from France – the ones made here never come close to the real thing)

2.  Chicken (already cooked, thank you, not live ones that I would have to deal with)

3.  Chocolate (possibly dark choc Bounty Bars – assuming I am on a hot desert island – because in the adverts Bounty bars never melt in the sun)

4.  Watermelon, or Canteloupe (just what you need if you are in a hot place, and the seeds could be used to make necklaces and bracelets to keep myself amused)

5.  Ice cream (either Baskin Robbins or Ben and Jerry’s please)

That should provide a fairly balanced diet – I think the main food groups are represented.  😉

View of Bora-Bora from Vahine Private Island, ...

View of Bora-Bora (Photo credit: Shark Attacks)

16 thoughts on “five a day

  1. Bacon, sausage, eggs, beans oh and chicken tikka masala.

  2. Elaine: you have a most discerning list here… mine would be similar with a few tweaks:

    1. Either a French Baguette or Portuguese bread would be fine, actually it’s a close call but if I was put on the spot to choose only one, the Portuguese bread would win.

    2. I’d be more general and say “cooked meat”… leaves the door open for some variety.

    3. Chocolate… most excellent choice… but never Bounty for me… my own recipe with the soft Bailey’s Irish Cream filling would be juuuuust fine…

    4. Watermelon? hmm strawberries rate higher with me… but again I think I’d cheat and stretch it to “fresh fruit” to give myself ALL my favourites LOL.

    5. Ice-cream, strangely enough, is something I can live without… but cheese? hmmm… lekker! I’ll just swap the dairy products around and go for some Dutch farmhouse old cheeses.

  3. Pizza! And swap the Bounty for a Caramel bar – or a box of Roses – you can make more fun stuff with the coloured wrappers 😉

  4. I hope they give you a fridge as well, or it’s going to be feast and famine for you 🙂

  5. A Prêt a Manger sandwich (the tuna baguette); chocolate (Turkish Delight); Liquorice Allsorts… Ermmm, maybe that’s all. Yes, I could live on those three things!

  6. And you could make a nice chicken butty with the baguette and, erm, chicken, Elaine. With a watermelon jus! 😀

  7. Definitely the baguette, freshly baked with real butter. Cornish ice-cream possibly topped with clotted cream – and does a cappuccino count? Not sure what else….Clearly I will need to diet when rescued from the island!

  8. Hmmm, I’d leave the baguette out, but I’ll join you for the rest.

Now it's your turn

