I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

is your password on this list?

7 Comments

I read about this in the National Geographic magazine last week, and it made me think.

The 25 most common passwords used on the internet in 2012 were:

1.  password

2.  123456

3.  12345678

4.  abc123

5.  qwerty

6.  monkey

7.  letmein

8.  dragon

9.  111111

10.  baseball

11.  iloveyou

12.  trustno1

13.  1234567

14.  sunshine

15.  master

16.  123123

17.  welcome

18.  shadow

19.  ashley

20.  football

21.  jesus

22.  michael

23.  ninja

24.  mustang

25.  password1

Did anyone recognise anything?  I felt a sense of relief that none of mine are there!

The list is compiled by SplashData from over 3 million stolen passwords posted online by hackers over the last few years.

Here are SplashData’s suggestions for making passwords more secure, and keeping your online information safer:

Use passwords of eight characters or more with mixed types of characters. One way to create longer, more secure passwords that are easy to remember is to use short words with spaces or other characters separating them. For example, “eat cake at 8!” or “car_park_city?”

Avoid using the same username/password combination for multiple websites.  Especially risky is using the same password for entertainment sites that you do for online email, social networking, and financial services. Use different passwords for each new website or service you sign up for.

“It just takes a few extra moments to make a password better,” Slain said. “If you get started now and make it a resolution to keep it up, your life online will be safer and more secure in 2013.”

forgot my password

7 thoughts on “is your password on this list?

  1. Phew! Mine’s not there.

    Thanks for posting; it’s good advice.

  2. A couple of months ago, I became paranoid about internet security. So I changed all of my passwords. Each site had a completely different password, nobody could access my sites, even me.

    All my passwords are now changed back to memorable but hackable passwords. 🙂

  3. Fascinated to see my husband’s name up there at number 19 – can’t imagine why it’s so popular as a password, as it’s not a particularly common name, I don’t think.

  4. There must be a lot of people called Ashley and Michael out there.

Now it's your turn

