I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

creme of the crop?

13 Comments

I’m sure Cadbury’s Creme Eggs have shrunk.

On Friday I had my first Cadbury’s Creme Egg of the season.  I like Creme Eggs and usually I will have eaten one or two (or maybe three 😉 ) by the time Easter comes around.  They have been in the shops since just after Christmas (actually I think they were on display before Christmas) but I was so outraged at how early they were on sale that I refused to buy one and then I must have blanked them out of my mind – they were there, but I didn’t see them – until Friday morning when I spotted them in the local shop.  There was a basket of them and they were calling my name.  At that point I realised that I hadn’t had one at all this year so I bought one.  It seemed tiny!

I’m sure they used to be much, much bigger than they are now – I’m sure they used to be at least the size of an average chicken/hen’s egg.  I measured it against a small chicken’s egg.  This chicken’s egg in the photo weighs 50g (1.7 oz) and according to size charts it is a small egg  (medium in the US).  It seems we are paying more and more for something that is getting smaller and smaller.

Does anyone else agree that Creme Eggs are shrinking?

egg and cadbury's creme egg

A blurry photo again I’m afraid – I really must start wearing my reading glasses when I am trying to take close up photos using my phone!

13 thoughts on “creme of the crop?

  1. Everything seems to have shrunk over the years, except for the prices. They have definitely increased!

  2. Oooo, I haven’t had a Cadbury’s Creme Egg for ages – used to love ’em!

  3. I agree with the eternal traveller – I noticed it when I went back to Ireland this time – bags of crisps, bars of chocolate… I don’t like it as it makes my hands looks disproportionately bigger!

  4. I think (seriously) it might be that chicken’s eggs have got bigger. My mum says so, so it’s probably true! The egg cups that we used as children do seem a bit small for boiled eggs, which is a bit of a pointer.

    • I think we can now get larger sized eggs (and they are all brown now, whereas I remember brown eggs being unusual) which we didn’t used to be able to, so I partially agree with your mum, but I don’t think that this is an excuse for the Creme Eggs shrinking! 😉

  5. You’re right – the incredible, shrinking egg! But great point from Iota – and if Iota’s mum says so, it must be true!

  6. They may be, but as I have gotten older… I have noticed that they seem really sweet now. I have been buying the mini ones lately.

  7. I hadn’t noticed (can’t bear them and we seem to have a house full of them this year!) but now you mention it I think they have shrunk.

Now it's your turn

