I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

a view from the bridge

2 Comments

I was in the park for a walk at the beginning of the week.  It was a nice day, but windy again (just to make absolutely sure that ALL the blossom has been blown of the trees) and a bit chilly.  We (Decisive Daughter was with me) walked across part of a river to get to a small island.  The water was much higher than I remember it ever being in the past and we only just managed to get across without it lapping over the tops of our wellies.  (I know everyone in the UK understands the word ‘wellies’ but what do you call them in other parts of the world?)

Traditional wellies for all occasions...

Wellies (Wellington Boots)

As we walked onto the island (just a small part of the woods where the river has split and comes back together again about a hundred yards later) with its tangle of trees, we hadn’t gone more than a few steps when a heron flew up in front of us from where it had been hiding in a dip beside the water and I don’t know who got the bigger shock – it, or us!  Then a moment later a muntjac deer darted across just a few yards away from us, and then stood very still, camouflaged in the trees.  I’d heard that they live in the woods, but this is the first time I’ve seen one.  I wasn’t quick enough with my camera though.

Muntjac Deer
photo credit: bbc.co.uk

So, to the title of this post.  I took a picture from the same spot on a bridge as I did back in January.

Here is the photo from yesterday –

CP bridge May

Here is the one I took in January –

view from bridge in CP

Spring has definitely sprung!

2 thoughts on “a view from the bridge

  1. We call them gumboots here, not sure though why gum.. 🙂

  2. Yippee! We call them gumboots too, no idea why!

Now it's your turn

