I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: the sign says

10 Comments

Share a picture of a SIGN and explain why you chose that picture!

Here are two signs which I took photos of in the mid 1980s in Doha, Qatar when I was living there.  There were no digital cameras then so I have scanned the two rather faded photos.  The government was running a campaign in a bid to make us all into better drivers, and signs appeared all over the place to try and help us to focus.  I only managed to take pictures of two of them, and neither of them is my favourite one which said  ‘Fatal accidents cause death‘.  🙂

This first photo is of one of the many crashed cars that were displayed on or near roundabouts.  I’m not sure that any accidents were prevented because looking at this sign was guaranteed to make us take our eyes off the road!

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

This next one was on one of the long stretches of road out of Doha.  It’s the spelling mistake that always amused us, and Mr Decisive and I still refer to accidnets rather than accidents!

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

This post is for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

10 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: the sign says

  1. I’m really pleased to see that they are taking this seriously. There are far too many accidnets on the roads these days 😀

  2. Fatal accidnets would probably cause death too. It sounds very uncomfortable.

  3. OMG!!! Nothing changes, eh. If you have a peek at my blog’s Facebook page (see right panel of blog), you’ll see a photo I shared today of another fine example of Doha driving! I really hope these signs persuaded people to slow down.

  4. Brilliant post, I love the car on the podium.

    You inspired me to do my own photo challenge 🙂

  5. How funny, both guaranteed to make me stare at the sign & not the road ahead!

Now it's your turn

