I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre #1

9 Comments

Last week (as I mentioned in my Six Word Saturday) I went to Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London.  It was my first visit, and I have no idea why I have never been there before – I will definitely try and get there more often!  I went with two friends who were on a recce trip for a school outing in a few weeks when they are taking 60 children, plus a lot of accompanying adults, via public transport for a quick visit to the Tate Modern followed by a workshop and short performance at The Globe.

We travelled the planned route (on the Underground) with one change of train, arriving at Waterloo station.  We worked out the best route to take the children onto Waterloo Bridge so that they could look along the Thames at all the magnificent buildings.  The bridge was unusually quiet and I just managed to take this picture before a big, red, double decker bus appeared from the right!

View from Waterlooo Bridge photo © iusedtobeindecisive

Waterlooo Bridge
photo © iusedtobeindecisive

It was a bit of a grey day, so the view was not as magnificent as usual, but we could see the Hungerford Bridge with the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye beyond it.

view from Waterloo Bridge

View from Waterloo Bridge
photo © iusedtobeindecisive

I forgot to take a picture in the other direction, but this is what we saw –

photo credit: docbrown.info

photo credit: docbrown.info

After admiring the views for a while we made our way along the South Bank to the Tate Modern, checked out what the children would be doing on their visit and then walked further along towards The Globe.

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

For some reason I was really surprised at how busy it was (silly me).  In particular there were a lot of French school parties – mainly teenagers but some who looked about 10 or 11 years old.

We went to the Information Desk inside the theatre to check up on where the school trip should assemble and, while we were there, we heard someone in the Ticket queue returning some tickets for that afternoon’s matinee of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  Quickly, we joined the ticket queue and got the tickets!  We had previously tried to book them, but it was sold out, so this was a bit of a result!

The business of the school trip concluded, tickets clutched in our excited hands, we went into The Swan (the restaurant on the same site as the theatre) and had a delicious lunch.

In the next post we go inside the Globe.

9 thoughts on “Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre #1

  1. Great photos Elaine! I haven’t visited the Globe before, but have heard of it and it’s on my travel wish-list. For some odd reason (not based on any particular fact) I assumed it was a very small building… a single story, or maybe two so I was surprised to see it look so big in your photo.
    (don’t ask me where I got my assumption, it’s the same kind of shock I got when I came from New Zealand where there are no squirrels and then saw my first one in Europe and was surprised they weren’t as big as cats LOL)
    I’m very much looking forward to your post(s) of the inside, and a fabulous stroke of luck to get those tickets! Well done !

  2. Oooh, what a stroke of luck! I’ve never been to The Globe either. I feel like I should.

  3. I remember the globe being built years ago – but I never got around to going yet. I look forward to your next post.

Now it's your turn

