I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

travel theme: motion

11 Comments

Ailsa at Where’s My Backpack‘s theme has Motion as this week’s theme.  Here are a couple of my most recent photos, taken when I was in Florida. They didn’t work out quite as I had planned because my camera has decided that it will have a bit of a delay between me pressing the button and the shutter working.

This first one was taken at SeaWorld, Orlando and is a beautiful dolphin in motion –  curving gracefully through the air as it leapt from the water.  Oops.

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

This next one was a blue heron, sitting peacefully beside a small lake in Celebration.  I turned my camera on, focused on the heron, pressed the button and…. in the delay before the shutter operated the heron took off in flight.

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

For some more, more successful I hope, motion photographs go to Where’s My Backpack.

11 thoughts on “travel theme: motion

  1. This is a fast heron – I remember seeing a heron take off and it seemed to be in slow motion. I was transfixed watching the big bird lift itself up into the air. The dolphin got away 😉 – however you still got a definite “motion” picture!

  2. They may not have been what you planned, but they are effective!

  3. That heron almost looks like he’s about to fly into the tree!
    I used the “dolphin effect type of photo to show Kiwi Daughter in one of my blog posts once LOL She’s visible but she’s not if you know what I mean.
    My amateur answer (if you have a DSLR camera) discovered by accident is the little action icon… and a bigger memory chip, you press the shutter and keep it down so that the camera takes for instance 6-8 photos very quickly.
    Most will be rubbish and you can delete them, but at least one will be perfectly sharp and you’ll have the mid-air shot you want.

    • On another occasion I thought I had used the continuous action set up – but it didn’t work. I’ts a digital point and shoot that I have, so maybe it doesn’t actually have that function. It’s a very good idea, so I will explore the functions more carefully for future ‘motion’ situations.:)

  4. It’s the thought that counts!

Now it's your turn

