I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

travel theme: sweet

9 Comments

Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack has asked us to indulge our sweet tooth this week.  A quick look back through my photo folders has come up with these sweet nothings.

First there’s possibly the tastiest, and most hastily consumed, fruit crepe I have ever had.  We were on a coach tour in Rekjavik, Iceland and had time for a brief stop to get something to eat whilst admiring the fabulous panoramas over the city from a restaurant at the top of a converted water tower.  We thought a crepe would be perfect – quick to make and not too filling given that we had eaten a large breakfast.  We ordered the crepes (one for me without the usual inclusion of bananas), paid and were asked to sit at a table and they would be brought over to us.  After about 10 minutes or so, conscious of the fact that we only had 30 minutes for this break, we were starting to get anxious – how long can it take to cook a crepe, put some fruit in it and deliver it to a table?  This was meant to be fast food!  I went back to the counter and was told they were about to make it.  Nearly another 10 minutes passed before this fantastic creation was delivered to our table.

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

No wonder it took so long to make!  There was fruit inside, fruit on top, malted chocolate balls (very like Maltesers), chocolate pieces, chocolate sauce inside, chocolate sauce on top, more chocolate sauce in a dish at the side, ice cream on the side….  It was delicious, but I only had five minutes before the coach was due to depart so I only managed about a third of it.  Such a waste!

The next photo shows another delicious sweet treat.  This time I was at the Amarone restaurant in Glasgow, celebrating my nephew’s birthday.  We had a delicious meal, but the best part of mine was this –

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

photo © iusedtobeindecisive

It’s Italian vanilla ice cream with a shot of hot espresso.  Mmmmmm.  There was no need to rush this one, so I savoured every mouthful!

9 thoughts on “travel theme: sweet

  1. That fruit crepe looks fabulous. Too bad you didn’t have time to enjoy it. At least you have the photo to salivate over for all eternity! 🙂

  2. That crepe fits the masterpiece theme as well as the sweet theme. You could double up here! Yum!

  3. God that crepe looks amazing! I had a similar one in Tartu, Estonia – I still dream about it 😉

  4. The crepe is too fancy for me, but that ice cream/espresso!

  5. Just looking at the photo of that crepe is making me hungry!

  6. I should NOT have read that post…this late at night. That crepe looks absolutely amazing. Just wish I had a creperie close to me. 😦

Now it's your turn

