I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the birthday edition

3 Comments

Dear birthdays,  Well hello, here you are again – it doesn’t seem like a year since you were last here.  We have celebrated my birthday and my daughter’s birthday within the last few days and I have to say it’s been hectic, but fun.  At least we can have a year off now to prepare for your next visit.

Dear grass,  Despite a bit of a setback when I applied a combined weed killer, moss killer and feed dressing to you a few weeks ago, you have finally started rallying round and are looking less desperate and more verdant.  There’s still a way to go and I’ll be mowing you again in a day or two, but I think we are winning and you looked good for our weekend birthday celebration.

Dear baby bird,  I hope you are ok.  I was a bit concerned when I saw you sitting on a garden table on Sunday morning whilst we worked around you preparing for our barbeque.  When you fluttered off I thought all was well, although you visited us again in the afternoon despite us having a garden full of guests.  There was no sign of you for a couple of days but then you were back again on Wednesday afternoon, hopping into the gap between two flower tubs and tucking your head under your wing.  After an hour or so you had gone, so I hope you are hiding somewhere safe now, gathering your strength

Dear Luton Airport,  Despite being named this week as the UK’s worst airport for customer satisfaction, I would just like to say that the service we received from your Special Assistance department on Wednesday evening was marvellous.  The young man who met my mum on the plane and helped her to collect her suitcase and then brought her out to meet me and then accompanied us all the way to where my car was parked was great: he was cheerful, helpful, kind and nothing was too much trouble for him.  He made the start to my mum’s two week holiday here with us very smooth.

Dear pile of books by my bed,  Look out, because I’m on a roll now and am finally making headway with you!

Have a good Friday everyone.

baby sparrow

Baby bird on garden table

3 thoughts on “Friday letters – the birthday edition

  1. Happy belated birthday! 🙂 I love the formatting of this post… so charming!

  2. Happy belated birthday!! August seems to be the month for them… two other bloggers have had birthdays recently as well.

    The baby bird is so cute. I hope he’s okay too 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday Elaine. It sounds as if everything is going your way!

    i

Now it's your turn

