I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

innocent little hats 2013

12 Comments

This is my fourth year (or is it fifth?) of knitting little woolly hats for Innocent Smoothie bottles, to raise money for the charity AgeUK.  I started knitting them in the middle of August and finished last week so that I could get them packaged up and posted to Innocent.  Innocent will then arrange for them to be place on top of the smoothie bottles and sent off to be sold in Sainsbury’s supermarkets at the beginning of November.  Each bottle sold with a hat raises 25p for the charity.  When my mum came to stay in the summer she knitted about 20 (having not knitted anything for years, she really enjoyed it) and my daughter also contributed some.  All together we made 146, which is brilliant.

Here they are in all their glory:

loads of innocent little hats

Loads of innocent little hats.

In the box, nearly ready to go.

146 hats in the box, nearly ready to go.

inncocent smoothie bottle with hat

If you fancy giving it a go it’s too late for this year, but it’s never too early to get started for next year!  Click on the Innocent website link at the top of the post for more information.

12 thoughts on “innocent little hats 2013

  1. I love those hats, all our little teddies wear them! Hadn’t thought about who makes them so I’m really impressed with your work. They look awesome. Sadly, I can’t knit so can’t rustle any up but will certainly stock up when I’m next in the UK!

  2. I’ve often wondered what happens to the hats when people buy them. I’m pleased your teddies are benefitting from them too. 🙂

  3. Oh wow! Impressive! Well done on your hard work.

  4. PS Remind us in November and I’ll pop in to buy one – maybe it will be one of yours!

  5. Aw, so cute! What a nice idea! Maybe they could be used as egg-warmers when they come off the bottles!

  6. I’d love to be able to buy one. As I can’t, I’ll programme my family in the UK to do so instead. Well done, it’s a very selfless thing to do.

  7. I love this idea, might get knitting next year if I can work it out!

  8. When you have knitted the hats, where do you send them to? I have got some knitted but can’t find an address for them.

    • You can either drop them in to an AgeUk shop, or send them to
      The big knit 2013
      innocent drinks
      342 Ladbroke Grove
      London
      W10 5BU

      I just looked on the website, and the deadline has been extended to the end of the month. Maybe I could get a few more knitted.

Now it's your turn

