I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Loch Katrine

4 Comments

At long last I have got round to writing about Loch Katrine, which I visited in March this year and have been meaning to post about since then!  Of course I have visited it many times over the years, but it would probably be about ten years since I was last there, and I have a feeling that that was just to visit the little gift shop at the end of the car park.

Loch Katrine is a freshwater loch, about 8 miles long and less than a mile wide, in the Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park in Scotland.  It provides water for much of the city of Glasgow and its surrounding areas, including the area where I grew up.

View down to Loch Katrine

Loch Katrine with boat

View along Loch Katrine

birch trees beside Loch Katrine

Hail to the Chief!

Loch Katrine is the setting for Sir Walter Scott’s famous poem, The Lady of the Lake, which was first published in 1810 and is thought to be the reason why this area of Scotland first became so popular with tourists.   The poem was made into a musical play which was performed, to popular acclaim, in the UK and New York.

This sign, which was beside the path that runs round the loch, explains all about it.  Until I read the sign, I had no idea that this small loch in Scotland should be linked with the President of the United States of America.

welcome Mr President at Loch Katrine

4 thoughts on “Loch Katrine

  1. The photos are breathtaking! And I learned something new, too. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow! I had no idea – what a cool fact. Thanks for sharing!

  3. It’s so pretty there. We visited the Trossachs in 1999 with our girls, but it was the middle of Summer so we didn’t have these gorgeous colours.

Now it's your turn

