I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

travel theme: delicate

4 Comments

It might not be an obvious choice for Where’s My Backpack’s challenge this week, but I think the delicate bars and lattice work with the sun shining through making a reflection on the still water give a delicate impression.  This is Traitors’ Gate at the Tower of London.

Traitors' Gate Tower of London

The Tower of London sits on the north bank of the River Thames in central London, and was originally built by William the Conqueror after he had successfully invaded England in 1066.  The history of the tower is bloody and cruel, involving many royals and other important people.  This gate has been known as Traitors’ Gate for over 400 years because of the number of people accused of treason who have passed through it.  It was originally built as a water gate around 1275 for King Edward I, so that he could arrive by river at St Thomas’s Tower, where he and his family would stay.  The purpose of the gate, and the tower, changed over the years and it was increasingly used as a prison for enemies of the state.

photo credit: wikipedia

photo credit: wikipedia

For more delicate photographs hop over to Ailsa’s blog Where’s My Backpack.

4 thoughts on “travel theme: delicate

  1. An interesting take on the theme.

    I have a similar photo, taken this summer, but no water: it had dried up.

  2. I took my children there some years back. Nice take on the delicate theme.

  3. Oh! I am glad I found your blog. Added you to my blog-feed-reader-thingy 🙂

Now it's your turn

