I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

JFK

8 Comments

Such was the excitement over the anniversary of Doctor Who and all the hype surrounding it, that it would be easy to miss another fifty year anniversary. In fact the events of Friday, November 22nd 1963 when President John F Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas, Texas caused the Saturday evening news coverage to be extended and the eagerly anticipated first episode of Doctor Who was delayed by ten minutes.

I was old enough to remember the occasion, but I don’t.  We didn’t have a television, but the radio would have been on (my parents being avid listeners to the news and weather forecasts) but I just have no recollection of anything to do with it – no discussions amongst family or at school.

In January this year I visited Dallas, and went to the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza (which I wrote about here).  After looking round the museum, listening to the excellent audio guide and looking out of the window, we went outside and saw the cross on the road which marks the spot where the car was when the President was shot, and stood beside the grassy knoll.  It was really quite moving.

I don’t suppose we will ever know what really did happen as, 50 years later, the ‘experts’ still can’t agree on how many shots were fired, and from which direction, and by whom.

I’ve posted these photos before, but I think they are worth looking at again.

The Texas Book Depository at Dealey Plaza

The Texas Book Depository at Dealey Plaza

The view from the window of the museum  You can just make out the cross on the road near the white car.

The view from the window of the museum You can just make out the cross on the road to the right of the white car.

Photo of JFK made up of small photos of his wife.

An image of JFK made up of small photos of his wife.

Photo of Jacqueline Kennedy made up of small photos of her husband.

An image of Jacqueline Kennedy made up of small photos of her husband.

8 thoughts on “JFK

  1. I watched an excellent documentary Friday night for the anniversary. I wonder if we will ever know the true story behind the assassination. I’d love to go to Dallas to see the museum and the grassy knoll.

  2. By a strange coincidence, C. S. Lewis (The Chronicles of Narnia) and Aldous Huxley (Brave New World) also died on the same day!

  3. I do think the story is bigger than a lone shooter working independently. Of course, we will never know. JFK was young and a great President, clearly ahead of his time. The last known Presidential assassination attempt was on Ronald Regan… he was also very popular. This I do remember quite clearly. With the poor performance of our last two Presidents the deranged people seeking attention seem to prefer malls and schools. 😦

  4. There have been several different television shows about JFK on here in the last couple of weeks. I think we will never know the whole truth.

Now it's your turn

