I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

six word saturday – sweets

35 Comments

VISIT TO SWEET SHOP SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTING

As mentioned in yesterday’s post, I went into an old fashioned sweet shop in a nearby town, imagining that I would be coming home with a small (ok, maybe it wouldn’t have been that small) selection of the old favourites – Black Jacks, Fruit Salads and Flying Saucers.  It was obviously not meant to be, as the shop was out of stock of all three.  I couldn’t leave empty handed (well, I could have, but you can’t go into an old fashioned sweet shop and not buy something – it would seem rude) so I got some coconut mushrooms to share with Mr Decisive (because I am a nice person really – I could just have scoffed them all myself and he would have been none the wiser).

coconut mushrooms

While I was out and about, and visiting the sweet shop amongst other shops,  Mr Decisive was in central London, at work.  When he came home he was clutching a shopping bag (a large yellow Selfridges bag, which is always an exciting sight), and I was told not to look in it as he went off upstairs to hide it away.  Coming back downstairs he produced a small cellophane packet,  saying he had bought us a treat because he happened to pass an old fashioned sweet shop.  Guess what he had bought?  Yes, coconut mushrooms!!  So, it was double helpings of coconut mushrooms last night.  😀

This post is for Six Word Saturday.  Click over to  Show My Face for more sets of six words.

35 thoughts on “six word saturday – sweets

  1. Ha, you guys are so in tune!

  2. I will send you some Black Jacks, I found some in one of our boxes while I was looking for Something

  3. I’ve never heard of coconut mushrooms! Is this a British thing? 🙂

  4. So sweet! Great minds think alike! My husband came back from London with a packet recently – it was my favourite Pret a Manger sandwich and I was so excited!

  5. Aaaaaah, coconut mushrooms! I’d forgotten all about them (none of those in my sweetie hamper). I just ate a Drumstick lolly 😀

  6. I’ve never heard of any of these–they must be European sweets! But coconut mushrooms sound wonderful!!!

  7. I haven’t heard of any of these either. I like coconut-y things so coconut mushrooms would be on my tasting list. How amazing that you both bought them…great minds think alike.

  8. Hi Elaine. You are speaking Greek to me here in Texas. But those coconut mushrooms do look really good. I will have to visit a Brit candy shop the next time I come (May next year). I do understand “Selfridges” though.

    Our grand-daughter, KP, had an appointment today to visit Father Christmas, at Harrods I think. The last time we were took her there she ate a whole pizza by herself [ http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2013/07/six-word-saturday_27.html ]. We FaceTime’d with her this morning. Today we had another grand-daughter here, she is getting married next October.

    KP likes chocolate chip cookies. I will have to introduce her to those good candy stores. I will get directions when we come. They live in St. Johns Wood.
    ..

  9. My sweetie bought me some miniature Buckeyes, a combination of peanut butter balls covered in chocolate last time we were out. I think the name comes from a nut that the candy resembles.

    Funny how you two bought the same treat!

  10. I’d leave a comment, but I have drooled on my keyboard.

  11. Coconut mushrooms are good but I think you’ll have to order online for a full retro sweet package! There’s a fabulous selection at http://www.aquarterof.co.uk

  12. I think that’s called synchronicity … or ‘great minds think alike’.

Now it's your turn

