I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

blogging by numbers – 2013

11 Comments

So that’s it, the end of another year.

Charlie Brown end of another year

It’s been a good year in blogland (I’ve enjoyed writing posts, reading blogs, leaving comments on other blogs and reading all of your comments), and I thought it would be interesting to take a look at my stats page and see what went particularly well in 2013. First up is a selection of the posts which had either the most views, or the most comments.

1.  Lemon drizzle cake and the hunt for 1lb loaf tins When I wrote this post about the time I decided to make lemon drizzle cakes but how difficult I found it to find the correct size of loaf tins, I had no idea how popular it would be.  With over 2, 500 views, I hope all the people who found it actually tried the recipe because it is so easy, and delicious!

2.  Podium   This is a short post that I wrote in summer 2012 when I was watching the Olympics.  I was struck by how some words which used to be nouns are now being used as verbs.  Until I wrote the post about lemon drizzle cake, this one was by far my most commonly looked at post (four times higher than the next one).

3.  The question of the shrinking Cadbury’s Creme Egg  I’ve just remembered I was going to follow up my research on the Creme Egg with some research on Walnut Whips!  That will have to be a challenge for 2014 now.

4.  Apostrophe’s cause lot’s of problem’s  I’m glad so many people agree with me about this!

5.  Apparently aliens love underpants  Is it the alien aspect of this post that has made it popular, or the underpants?  🙂

Now for the top 5 search terms (according to the stats).

1.  podium

2.  Snoopy fall

3.  snow load bridge

4.  mary berry lemon drizzle cake

5.  lemon drizzle cake mary berry

There’s not much fun in those search terms, so here are the Top 5 search terms according to me!

1.  indecisive camouflage

2.  spanking trains

3.  indecisive underpants

4.  how to explain to a child not to use a skipping rope to play horsey

5.  seix krton (what???)

So that’s it for another year.  Here’s to a happy and healthy 2014.

I had spent some time putting the above together, then checked my emails to find one from WordPress telling me about my blogging year and basically telling me what I had just been working out from my stats  – I could have saved myself the trouble!  They did put together an interesting map of where most of my visitors come from, which is something I forgot to check myself.

blog visitors map

Happy New Year – wherever in the world you are!

11 thoughts on “blogging by numbers – 2013

  1. Your drizzle cake recipe was the first post I read on your blog, I think 🙂 Wishing you all the best for 2014, and looking forward to reading and sharing more this year, blogging buddy 😀

  2. Justin Beaver wants to remind you of your number one top blogging experience of 2013, which was meeting him!

    Wow, 2,500 views on one post. That would be amazing. What an achievement.

  3. Happy New Year to you! You’ve just reminded me that I forgot to eat a Walnut Whip while I was home.

  4. I didn’t get a cool map from wordpress – I feel neglected… What a great blogging year, may 2014 be just as good!

Now it's your turn

