I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the January edition

6 Comments

We’re halfway through January already – hard to believe!

Dear Supermarket trolley manufacturers,  Please can you add some sort of device which means that your elderly customers can hitch their tartan shopping bags on wheels onto their trolley?  They take up far too much room pushing their trolley in front of them and dragging their enormous wheeled shopping bag behind them.  The already narrow aisles, and groups of elderly folks congregating to exchange news of aches, pains, and queues at the post office, just do not have room for this new hazard!  Or perhaps supermarkets could just ban them all together, or insist that these large bags are ‘parked’ near the checkout until they are needed.

tartan shopping trolley

Dear weed seedlings,  I spotted you yesterday in the very narrow gap along the bottom of the fence and the start of the block paving of my driveway.  What are doing there in January??  It is far to early for you – I’m not ready for doing any weeding yet, or applying weedkiller!  Get yourselves back into the ground until springtime please.

Dear Sing-a-long-a Grease,  Tonight’s the night!  I’ve not been to this sort of thing before, and I know it’s going to be fun.  There will be some people there in costume (Pink Ladies and T-birds) but I’m just going to go as myself and I hope you will let me in.

Dear parakeets,  What a noise!  All that squawking in the tree outside the classroom window today was a bit distracting.  Nice as it is to see you, I think you should go and squawk elsewhere during school hours.  There is a lovely big park nearby that would be much more suitable for you.

Happy Friday everyone!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Friday letters – the January edition

  1. Sing-along Grease! How fun 🙂

    The tree outside my window has started to turn green. I have a feeling it’s going to get a shock when winter actually does decide to show up…

  2. I’m not surprised the weeds are growing, Elaine. It was light tonight until 5.45pm. In January. And for the second time this week! What’s going on?

  3. Didn’t you know that weeds are the hardiest creatures in the world after cockroaches? I read that if there was a nuclear explosion cockroaches would be the only survivors but I reckon the weeds of the world would still be growing too.

  4. I had heard that about cockroaches, but not weeds. I’m not surprised to hear it though, because they are such tough little blighters to get rid of!

Now it's your turn

