I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

a weeping willow tree and the Sahara desert

25 Comments

weeping willow April

I passed the weeping willow tree today when I was out for a walk, and took a photo to show how it has progressed in the last two weeks.  The sun was shining and the sky was actually pale blue with clouds but it just looks like a bit of a dull, grey day (perhaps my camera has a setting for that sort of condition, but I haven’t found it yet!).

The reason for the weak sun and the pale sky is apparently all to do with the Sahara desert.  On Monday we woke to everything outside being covered in a fine film of red sand dust.  Sand and dust were swept up by storm winds in the Sahara desert and blown north to be combined with our warm air and then fell with the rain showers.  Add to that the fact that there are higher levels of air pollution in the south of England at the moment because of polluted air arriving on light winds from northern Europe and the bright blue sky I was hoping to have for my walk this morning was a forlorn hope.

I had a good walk, though, and saw evidence that there’s going to be a bumper crop of bluebells this year, in fact in one spot there were a few brave ones already out.

bluebells are coming

early bluebells

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “a weeping willow tree and the Sahara desert

  1. Is that a branch falling off the tree in your lovely weeping willow picture?

  2. Weeping Willows are such graceful trees, and the sight of bluebells bring back childhood memories of trips into the woods to collect some for my mom’s vase. 🙂

  3. Ah, so that’s what it was, Elaine. We were covered in a layer of dust here in Cheshire the other day (well, the cars were!) – but only on one side. Very strange!

  4. The Hub says the dust was on his car but I didn’t notice.

  5. Absolutely beautiful photograph of willow, and planted in the right spot. We bought our house (1867) in UK many many years ago simply because it has this lovely willow tree (not as big as yours here, of course) in the backgarden – unfortunately far too close to the house. After many years cracks appeared inside and subsidence was found. Panick! Had to move out for just over 1 whole year during which time the workmen had a field day. Tree (in fact all of them, whole garden had to go because willow damaged the old drain pipes etc) was cut down, sad sad day. Endresult, beautiful new (old) house. But, having said all this, we happily would buy another property with a big willow tree again, only this time tree at the end of a large garden by a river or lake ( 🙂 anybody is allowed a dream, right). Bluebells remind me too of my childhood in Germany, grandparents house was on the edge of a small wood and I was always collecting bluebells, mushrooms, berries – those were the days. Thanks for showing me your beautiful photographs.

    • What a shame that your willow tree had to go- to have one in the garden would be beautiful and I think it might have tempted me to buy a house just for that reason too. I hadn’t thought about the roots being so destructive so beside rivers and lakes is obviously the best place for them!

  6. Lovely willow, makes me homesick for my hometown in the UK which has beautiful willows in the local park.

  7. I am looking forward to seeing another photo of the bluebells in full bloom in a couple of weeks.

  8. Thank you for the amazing photos. I like the weeping willow.

  9. Reblogged this on Anastasia's Art Pages & Blogs and commented:
    I like this alot! lol

  10. Nice photo Elaine! The willow is one of my favourite trees, they can go from beautiful to creepy just with a change of light and, well, i like that sort of juxtaposition hahaha keep up the good work 🙂

Now it's your turn

