I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

a walk in search of bluebells

8 Comments

I went on this walk last week, but have been so busy since then (including a long Easter weekend away, visiting friends) that I haven’t had the time to write the post until now.

I wanted to check on the progress of the bluebells, and was surprised to see so many already out.  When I looked closely I could see that most of them were not out fully, so another walk in the next few days is on the cards.

First I passed the weeping willow, then I went over the canal and into the woods.

April weeping willow

canal and lock

If you can find an audio clip somewhere online of an English woodland in April and play it while you look at my photos, you’ll get a really good idea of the soundtrack to my walk.  It was really quite loud at times!

bluebell woods 1

bluebell woods 2

bluebell woods 4

bluebell woods 3

The parts of the woods which weren’t carpeted in bluebells, had a lot of ferns just starting to grow.

unfurling fern

8 thoughts on “a walk in search of bluebells

  1. Gorgeous scenes, Elaine. I would love to be walking through those woods, instead of packing up my house. 🙂

  2. No bluebells where we are, which makes me enjoy your lovely photos all the more!

  3. It will be stunning in another few days. I’m looking forward to the next instalment.

  4. Which canal is that, Elaine? It looks a lovely walk. Near to you?
    Not too many bluebells around here. We usually have to go up to Durham and there’s no time right now so I’ll enjoy yours instead. 🙂
    If you do a follow-up. I’d love you to link back to my Monday walks? Or just leaving a comment with the link is fine, too.

  5. Jo, it’s the Grand Union Canal and is very near to where I live. I can either walk along the canal (towards London, or Birmingham), or cross over and walk in the woodlands. I will certainly link up with your Monday walk – if I get myself organinsed in time to do the walk and write the post!

Now it's your turn

