I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: letters

13 Comments

Paris metro sign Pigalle

Paris metro Pigalle

This was a rather hastily taken photo because I loved the lettering, and the Art Nouveau style, at the entrance to this Paris Metro station in the Monmartre district.  We had just had a lovely lunch in a cafe in the Place du Tertre near the Sacre Coeur, surrounded by artists (and tourists).

Place du Tertre Paris

Place du Tertre cafe

There is an interesting article here about the architecture and style of the Paris Metro stations.

For more letters take a look at the WordPress Weekly Challenge.

 

13 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: letters

  1. I really like your post – and the hastily taken pic is my fav – but all the “lettres françaises sont très” 🙂

  2. It sure is a busy place there in Paris. I really like the font of the letters. It doesn’t look exactly modern, neither does it look old fashioned. It looks somewhere in between the two, something artsy and that’s the arty slice of Paris for you 🙂

  3. What beautiful font on those signs, Elaine. I enjoyed your choices for the challenge. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters | The Panama Adventure

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters | Photography From North Wales

  6. Do love the lettering in the first picture – I couldn’t say why, but it just looks quintessentially French, doesn’t it?

  7. I remember seeing this metro station in Paris. It’s so “French”…

  8. One of my favourite cities, one of my favourite styles, it’s shouts “Paris” just as much as it says “Metro”… I think it’s excellent that any city has it’s own style, and Paris has it’s in spades.

Now it's your turn

