I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

Friday letters – the end of May edition

16 Comments

How can we have come to the end of May so quickly?  Where did it go?

Dear pile of books by my bed,  I am feeling quite proud of the fact that you have not got any bigger – I seem to be balancing the number of books I am reading with the number of books I am buying.  I know it’s not ideal yet, and some of you have been waiting a very long time for me to get round to reading you, but I think I am winning the battle.

Dear ironing,  How do you do it?  Are you breeding in the basket?   Each time I put the washing machine on there seems to be only a few things that will need to be ironed,  but the pile seems to grow at an alarming rate!  I’m sure there must be some mathematical law which describes what is happening.

Dear patio furniture,  It’s nice to see you again, released from your winter captivity in the shed and ready for use in the long, warm, sunny summer I hope we are going to have.

Dear supermarket, I’ll be visiting you later today – please have some inspiration for me for an easy, tasty meal tonight!

Dear robins and baby robin,  Where are you?  Since I mentioned you in my last Friday letters, I haven’t seen you at all.  I hope nothing bad has happened.  Speaking of something bad happening…

Dear sparrowhawk, Yes, you are magnificent and yes, I know it’s nature, but I feel you were really rather bold to stand in the garden eating your prey in such an obvious way.  I would have preferred it if you could just have taken the poor little bird (I’m hoping it wasn’t a robin) somewhere else to eat it.

sparrowhawk1

sparrowhawk2

Have a good Friday one and all.

16 thoughts on “Friday letters – the end of May edition

  1. Oh dear, I also hope the robins haven’t been eaten. 😦 I haven’t yet found out the secret of the growing pile of ironing. I’ll tackle mine today, so I can sleep better tonight. 😀 Have a great weekend, Elaine.

  2. Oh dear, poor bird. I hope the robins turn up safe and sound.

    Tomorrow is our last day of Autumn and we have had the warmest May ever on record. I hope it’s an indication of a mild Winter to come.

    I can’t help with the mystery of the ever-growing ironing pile. It seems to be an international dilemma.

  3. I love your Friday letters, what a good idea! Can’t help with the ironing mystery though. I leave my few bits until there is a reasonable pile and I have to do it. Strange how so many of us don’t have the ironing gene 🙂
    Jude xx

  4. I don’t own an iron – that solves that problem 😉

  5. I have also tried not to do the washing. This approach has some merit in that I can’t see the dirty washing till it bursts out of the linen basket. Hey ho! Lovely Friday Letter btw.

Now it's your turn

