I used to be indecisive…

…but now I'm not so sure

weekly photo challenge: humanity

12 Comments

“For this week’s challenge, share what humanity means to you. Share a single photo or a collage to represent a sea of humanity.”

This is just a small sea of humanity, in the Piazza San Marco (St Mark’s Square), Venice.  It reminds me a little of the ‘Where’s Wally?’ pictures where there’s a lot going on, or a Lowry painting.

Look closely and you will see people feeding the pigeons (and there are LOTS of pigeons!), artists, street vendors with brightly coloured umbrellas, people taking photos of each other, people sitting having coffee, families, couples, babies in pushchairs, a band getting ready for a performance, a tour group, a child running…  Enlarge the picture and see what you can see.

Piazza San Marco humanity

This post is for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

12 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: humanity

  1. Unfortunately the photo doesn’t enlarge, so I’ll have to take your word for what’s going on! A great photo for the challenge and as you say, reminiscent of a Lowry image. Love the header BTW. I shall be posting about asters soon, such colourful autumn flowers.
    Jude xx

    • The photo should enlarge now (I hope) because I have now uploaded a larger version of it. I forgot that of course I can see the detail because the photo is on my computer!
      I love asters, and had actually forgotten all about them until I saw a lovely display when we went to the Lost Gardens of Heligan on our most recent trip to Cornwall. I may have to get some for my garden for next year.

  2. Beautiful sea of humanity! 🙂

  3. Ha ha, I’ve never heard Venice compared to a Where’s Wally picture before!!! 🙂

  4. I love people watching like this. Great photo Elaine.

  5. Oh yes, St Mark’s Square. I remember how many pigeons there were there, and all the people feeding them. I believe that they’ve become such a problem now, that there is now a ban on feeding them. (Your photo did enlarge for me. 🙂 )

  6. Just remembered that we saw the same scene in ‘Marienplatz’, St. Mary’s Square Munich. One really had to dodge the pigeon poo whilst waiting to see the famous Glockenspiel do its thing at midday. 🙂

Now it's your turn

